Poteete Fischer and Relay Helps Bruin Swimmers Win Nike Cup Crown

Nov. 17, 2007

Complete Results

The 14th-ranked Bruin swimmers captured the Nike Cup Crown on Saturday in Long Beach as Anna Poteete, Isabell Fischer and the 400 freestyle relay led the team with event wins. The Bruins won with 1498.5 points, while BYU was second with 887.5 points.

Sam Vanden Berge started the night off as she finished second in the 1650 free, swimming 17:02.64. Julie Imagane (5th, 17:13.15) and Ellen Brooks (8th, 17:18.74) also finished in the top-10 in the mile.

The Bruins took the top two spots in the 200 back with Isabell Fischer leading the way with her winning swim of 2:02.00. Madeleine Stanton placed second in a time of 2:02.61, while Erin Frizzell (4th, 2:04.02) and Carly Lyons (9th, 2:04.68) were also top finishers for UCLA.

Anna Poteete won the 100 free as she swam an NCAA consideration time of 50.40. Kelly Colligan was fourth (51.63) and Ashley Anlauf placed eighth (52.57).

Nicolette Teo was the top finisher for UCLA in the 200 breast as she placed second in with an NCAA consideration time of 2:16.13. Brittany Beauchan joined Teo in the top-10 with her seventh-place swim (2:21.93).

For the second time during the meet, Kirsten Byers was the sole Bruin to finish in the top-10 of a fly event as she placed sixth in the 200 fly in a time of 2:05.76.

The 400 free relay team of Poteete, Colligan, Emily Bibb and Anlauf capped off the meet with a win for the Bruins as they swam 3:25.68 to win.

The swimmers will next head to the Short Course National Championships in Atlanta, GA in two weeks to wrap up the 2007 portion of their schedule.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder