Eleven Bruins Earn All-Pac-10 Honors

Nov. 20, 2007

A conference-best 11 UCLA players were selected to the 2007 Men's Soccer All-Pac-10 teams. Junior midfielders Tony Beltran and Jason Leopoldo, sophomore midfielder Chance Myers and senior defender Mike Zaher earned first-team honors, while sophomore midfielder Kyle Nakazawa received second-team acclaim. Sophomore forward David Estrada, senior defenders Greg Folk and Brandon Owens, junior forward Maxwell Griffin, sophomore goalkeeper Brian Perk and junior defender Brad Rusin earned honorable mention nods.

U.S. Under-20 National Team starter Beltran (Claremont, Calif./Claremont HS) has split time between right back and central midfield and has excelled in both positions. He has two assists on the year, both of which were on game-winning goals (against Cal and Oregon State). This is Beltran's first Pac-10 honor.

Leopoldo (Thousand Oaks, Calif./Thousand Oaks HS), a second-team all-conference selection in 2006, earns his second conference honor. He has scored two goals, including the game-winner at Oregon State, and three assists.

Myers (Thousand Oaks, Calif./Thousand Oaks HS) earned his first conference honor after a regular season in which he scored three goals, including a dramatic goal in the final 38 seconds to the send the game into overtime against Notre Dame and the game-winner in the final two minutes at San Francisco.

Zaher (Las Vegas, Nev./Bishop Gorman HS) received his second consecutive first-team All-Pac-10 honor. The Bruins' co-captain has recorded three goals and three assists and has played and started in every game this season. He is also a finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award.

Nakazawa (Palos Verdes Estates, Calif./Edison Academic Center) is the Pac-10 leader in assists with seven and is second on the team with 11 points. He was an honorable mention selection as a freshman a year ago.

Estrada (Salinas, Calif./Alisal HS) also receives his second career honor. He has scored three goals in 12 games played this season. Owens (Murrieta, Calif./Edison Academic Center) becomes UCLA's first four-time All-Pac-10 honoree since Adolfo Gregorio (2000-03). Owens has played in 12 games with eight starts. Folk (Woodland Hills, Calif./Edison Academic Center), Griffin (Palmdale, Calif./Littlerock HS) and Perk (Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif./Edison Academic Center) each received their first Pac-10 honor. Folk has played in every minute of every game since his junior season. Griffin is the team leader in scoring with nine goals and 18 points and ranks second in the Pac-10 in goals scored. Perk leads the Pac-10 in saves with 83 and is tied for second in the conference with five shutouts. Rusin (Holmes Beach, Fla./St. Stephen's Prep) was selected to the honorable mention team for the third year in a row. He has played in 18 games with 17 starts this season.

The 11 all-conference players are the most UCLA has had since 14 Bruins made the all-conference teams in 2002.

Washington senior forward Ely Allen and California senior midfielder Andrew Jacobson were selected the Co-Players of the Year. Stanford midfielder/forward Bobby Warshaw was named Freshman of the Year, and California head coach Kevin Grimes earned Coach of the Year honors for the third-straight year.

2007 Pac-10 First Team All-Conference
Ely Allen*, F, Sr., Washington
Tony Beltran, Mf, Jr., UCLA
Scott Bolkan, D, Sr., Stanford
Kraig Chiles, Mf, Sr., San Diego State
Stefan Frei, Gk, So., California
Andrew Jacobson**, Mf, Sr., California
George John, Mf, Jr., Washington
Jason Leopoldo, Mf, Jr., UCLA
Chance Myers, Mf, So., UCLA
Luke Sassano, Mf/F, Sr., California
Mike Zaher *, D, Sr., UCLA

*Two-time All-Pac-10 honoree
**Three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

2007 Pac-10 Second Team All-Conference
Javier Ayala-Hil, F, Sr., California
Nick Cardenas, D, So., San Diego State
Raphael Cox, Mf, Jr., Washington
Kevin Forrest, F, Sr., Washington
John Moore, Gk, So., Stanford
Kyle Nakazawa, Mf, So., UCLA
Michael Strickland, Mf., So., Stanford
Evan Toft, Mf, So., San Diego State
Bobby Warshaw, Mf/F, Fr., Stanford
Nick Webb, F, Sr., Oregon State
Andrew Wiedman, F, Fr., California

2007 Pac-10 Honorable Mention All-Conference
Tyler Barry (Jr., D, California); Brad Byrns (Fr., Gk, San Diego State); Alex Christensen (Sr., D, Oregon State); Casey Cunningham (So., D, Washington); Khadim Diouf (Fr., F, San Diego State); David Estrada (So., F, UCLA); Greg Folk (Sr., D, UCLA); Brett Gardner (Sr., Mf/F, Oregon State); Maxwell Griffin (Jr., F, UCLA); Kyle Hency (Sr., Mf/D, Stanford); Ryan Imamura (Sr., Mf/D, Stanford); Andrew Kartunen (Sr., Gk, Stanford); Daniel Leach (Jr., D, Oregon State); Ellis McLoughlin (Fr., F, Washington); T.J. Novak (Jr., MF/F, Stanford); Brandon Owens (Sr., D, UCLA); Brian Perk (So., Gk, UCLA); Brad Rusin (Jr., D, UCLA); Dan Shapiro (Sr., F, Stanford); Jamel Wallace (So., D, San Diego State)

Pac-10 Co-Players of the Year: Ely Allen, Washington; Andrew Jacobson, California
Pac-10 Freshman of the Year: Bobby Warshaw, Stanford
Pac-10 Coach of the Year: Kevin Grimes, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder