Women's Volleyball All-Conference Honors

Nov. 26, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- STANFORD junior middle blocker Foluke Akinradewo has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Volleyball Player of the Year, Stanford outside hitter Alix Klineman has been honored as the Pacific-10 Conference Freshman of the Year, and Stanford's John Dunning has been named Pacific-10 Conference Volleyball Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Monday.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- FOLUKE AKINRADEWO, STANFORDAkinradewo, a three-time All-Pac-10 selection, becomes the 12th Stanford player to be named Pac-10 Player of the Year. In fact, the Cardinal have claimed the honor seven times over the last 11 years. Akinradewo, a middle blocker from Plantation, Fla., was among the league statistical leaders in hitting percentage (.493/1st), kills per game (4.01 kpg/9th), blocks (1.20 sapg/8th), and points (5th/4.85 ppg). She earned Pac-10 Player of the Week honors twice during the season in helping the defending Pac-10 champions post a 27-2 record overall and their 11th Pac-10 crown with a 16-2 league mark. Her hitting percentage currently leads the nation is on pace to break the Pac-10 single-season record of .448 set last season by UCLA's Nana Meriwether.

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR -- ALIX KLINEMAN, STANFORDKlineman, an outside hitter from Manhattan Beach, Calif., is the 10th Stanford player, and fifth in the last seven years, to earn Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honors. She helped guide the Cardinal to their 11th Pac-10 title while averaging a team-leading 4.12 kills per game (sixth in the Pac-10). Klineman, who was the only freshman named to the All-Pac-10 team, also posted 2.33 digs per game and 0.69 blocks per game.

COACH OF THE YEAR -- JOHN DUNNING, STANFORDJohn Dunning has been named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year after guiding Stanford to its 11th Pac-10 title with a 16-2 league record, and a 27-2 record overall. Dunning currently has the Cardinal ranked No. 4 in the AVCA/CSTV Top 25 poll, and is taking the Cardinal into the NCAA Tournament as the No. 1 seed. This is the second time Dunning has been tabbed Pac-10 Coach of the Year (also in 2001). Dunning has a career record of 640-134 (.827) in 23 seasons, including a record of 203-32 (.864) in seven seasons at Stanford.


Foluke Akinradewo, STAN*** MB 6-3 Jr. Plantation, Fla.
Cynthia Barboza, STAN** OH 6-0 Jr. Long Beach, Calif.
Taylor Carico, USC S 5-10 So. Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Hana Cutura, CAL OH 6-3 So. Zagreb, Croatia
Asia Kaczor, USC** OH 6-4 Sr. Wroclaw, Poland
Bryn Kehoe, STAN** S 5-11 Sr. North Bend, Ohio
Alix Klineman, STAN OH 6-4 Fr. Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Gorana Maricic, ORE OH 6-3 Jr. Subotica, Serbia
Tamari Miyashiro, WASH L 5-7 So. Honolulu, Hawaii
Christal Morrison, WASH**** OH 6-2 Sr. Puyallup, Wash.
Stevie Mussie, WASH OH 5-9 Sr. Pyallup, Wash.
Angie Pressey, CAL**** OH 5-8 Sr. Heathrow, Fla.
Nellie Spicer, UCLA*** S 5-10 Jr. Barrington, Ill.
Jessica Swarbrick, WASH** MB 6-1 Jr. El Dorado, Calif.

** two-time selection
*** three-time selection
**** four-time selection

Honorable Mention: Morgan Beck, CAL. Ali Daley, UCLA. Alesha Deesing, WASH. Sydney Donahue, ASU. Margie Giordano, ASU. Jenna Hagglund, WASH. Rachell Johnson, UCLA. Dominque Lamb, ARIZ. Heather Meyers, ORE. Sonja Newcombe, ORE. Ellen Orchard, CAL. Becky Perry, WASH. Sarah Reaves, ASU. Rachel Rourke, OSU. Kaitlin Sather, UCLA. Katie Swoboda, ORE.


Jenna Hagglund, WASH S 5-10 West Chester, Ohio
Alix Klineman, STAN OH 6-4 Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Carli Lloyd, CAL S 5-11 Bosnall, Calif.
Heather Meyers, ORE OH 5-11 Temecula, Calif.
Tiffany Owens, ARIZ OH 5-11 San Bernardino, Calif.
Becky Perry, WASH OH 6-2 Austin, Texas
Sarah Reaves, ASU OH 5-11 Glendale, Ariz.

Honorable Mention: Gabi Ailes, STAN. Zoe Garrett, USC. Dicey McGraw, UCLA. Katie Mills, UCLA. Jill Sawatzky, OSU. Geena Urango, USC.

2007 PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Foluke Akinradewo, Stanford

2007 PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Alix Klineman, Stanford

2007 PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: John Dunning, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder