Three Husky Women Earn All-Pac-10 Honors

Nov. 27, 2007

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Washington women's cross country team placed three runners on the All-Pac-10 team, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today. Junior Anita Campbell made the seven-member first team while sophomore Katie Follett and freshman Marie Lawrence earned second team honors.

The three honorees in one year is the most in the program's history, fitting for the team which just last week finished an all-time best 8th at the NCAA Championships in Terre Haute, Ind. Campbell and Follett both earned All-American honors for their Top-20 finishes at NCAA's.

For Campbell, it is her second conference award, as she was named to the second team in 2006. She led the Huskies with a sixth-place finish at last month's Pac-10 Championships in Corvallis, Ore. Follett placed ninth and Lawrence was 13th, earning placement on the seven-member second team. It is the first career honor for both Follett and Lawrence.

'The Pac-10 on the women's side this year was as strong as I've ever seen it,' said Head Coach Greg Metcalf. 'For us to place three women on the team with that level of competition is terrific. Each of the three women ran great at Pac-10's and then went on to lead us to a Top-10 National finish.'

Oregon junior Shadrack Kiptoo-Biwott and Stanford senior Arianna Lambie were named the men's and women's Pac-10 Athletes of the Year after winning the conference meet. Oregon took both Newcomer of the Year awards, with freshmen A.J. Acosta and Alexandra Kosinski capturing the hardware. Oregon's Vin Lananna was named Pac-10 Men's Coach of the Year and Stanford's Peter Tegen picked up his second-straight Pac-10 Women's Coach of the Year award. The Duck men and Cardinal women both won NCAA titles last Monday.

2006 Pac-10 Cross Country Honors
Women's First Team:
Arianna Lambie, Sr., Stanford; Teresa McWalters, Sr., Stanford; Alexandra Kosinski, Fr., Oregon; Nicole Blood, So., Oregon; Jenna Kingma, Jr., Arizona State; Anita Campbell, Jr., Washington; Ali Kielty, So., Arizona State

Women's Second Team: Isley Gonzalez, Sr., Washington State; Katie Follett, So., Washington; Lauren Centrowitz, Sr., Stanford; Sarah Cocco, Fr., USC; Kari Hardt, So., Arizona State; Marie Lawrence, Fr., Washington; Kate Niehaus, So., Stanford

Athlete of the Year: Arianna Lambie, Sr., Stanford
Newcomer of the Year: Alexandra Kosinski, Fr., Oregon
Coach of the Year: Peter Tegen, Stanford

Men's First Team: Shadrack Kiptoo-Biwott, Jr., Oregon; Galen Rupp, Jr., Oregon; Russell Brown, Sr., Stanford; Austin Ramos, Sr., UCLA; Hari Mix, Jr., Stanford; Neftalem Araia, Sr., Stanford; Yosef Ghebray, Jr., California

Men's Second Team: Mark Matusak, Jr., California; David Torrence, Sr., California; Kyle Alcorn, Sr., Arizona State; Scott Wall, Jr., Oregon; Andrew Acosta, Fr., Oregon; Kenny Klotz, So., Oregon; Andrew Wheating, Fr., Oregon

Men's Athlete of the Year: Shadrack Kiptoo-Biwott, Jr., Oregon
Men's Newcomer of the Year: A.J. Acosta, Fr., Oregon
Men's Coach of the Year: Vin Lananna, Oregon

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network