Two More School Records Broken at Texas Invitational

Dec. 1, 2007

The Sun Devils closed out the Texas Invitation by breaking two more school records and earning four automatic qualifying times.

The finals of day three began with the 1650 free. Shannon Garrett placed fifth overall with an NCAA consideration time of 16:42.90. On the men's side, CJ Nuess clocked in a time of 15:01.63, a personal best for the senior All-American and an automatic qualifying time for the NCAA Championships in March.

Caitlin Andrew broke the 200 back school record, clocking in time of 1:56.77. Her time of 1:56.77 automatically qualified her for March's NCAA Championships. Rikka Brunner finished third in the 'C' final with a time of 2:01.99.

The 100 free also brought a great deal of success for the Sun Devils. Jen Beckberger automatically qualified for the NCAA Championships by placing sixth overall with a time 49.20. Her time also puts her at third on ASU's all time list. In the preliminary trials earlier in the day, Jess Perazzo clocked in ASU's second fastest 100 free time ever, 49.10 and automatically qualified herself for the NCAA Championships. She ended up placing eighth overall. Lindsey Brown clocked in an NCAA consideration time of 50.38 to put her name in ASU's record books by holding the seventh fastest 100 free time.

On the men's side, former ASU All-American, current assistant coach and Olympic hopeful Nick Brunelli was runner-up, clocking in a time of 42.25. Steve Neuwert finished 16th overall with an NCAA consideration time of 44.38.

In the women's 200 breast, Lindsey Russenberger finished third in the 'B' final with a time of 2:18.53. Sara McDaniel touched in at 2:20.28 to place fifth in the 'B' final. In the prelims earlier in the day, CJ Nuess earned an NCAA consideration time in the men's 200 breast with a time of 1:58.93.

Ashton Aubry placed eighth overall in the 200 fly with a time of 2:01.73 but it was her preliminary time that was impressive as she finished in 1:59.96 to put herself in ASU's record books as the third fastest ASU 200 fly swimmer. Jamie Martinez earned herself an NCAA consideration as well by finishing second in the 'B' final with a time of 2:00.13. Martinez is now fifth on ASU's all-time list. Sean Boyle also added his name to ASU's record books in the 200 fly by clocking in a time of 1:47.32. His NCAA consideration time put him at sixth on ASU's all-time list. Nuess finished 8th overall in the event.

The relay team of Andrew, Beckberger, Brown and Perazzo broke their second school record of the weekend. They automatically qualified for the NCAA Championships by placing second with at time of 3:15.96. The men's 400 free relay team of Neuwert, Magnus Kjellberg, Boyle and Mohammed Madwa placed fourth with an NCAA consideration time of 2:56.68.

The Sun Devils do not compete again until Jan. 5th when they host Washington's men and women's teams and Oregon State and Purdue's women's teams.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder