California Football Announces its Annual Team Awards

Dec. 3, 2007

Berkeley - The University of California football program held its annual team banquet on Sunday night at the Oakland Marriott Civic Center, paying tribute to this year's seniors, as well as announcing a host of team awards to various individuals. Among the notable honorees, senior running back Justin Forsett was selected as the Offensive MVP, while senior safety Thomas DeCoud was honored as the Defensive MVP.

Forsett garnered three awards (Stub Allison Most Inspirational, Most Valuable Back and Offensive MVP), and also received three standing ovations from the audience. The 5-8 product from Arlington, Texas has produced 1,406 yards on the ground - third-most in school history for a single season. His 13 rushing touchdowns are not only tied for the most in the conference, they also are the third-most for a single season in program history.

A member of the football team since 2003, DeCoud enjoyed his best season in a Cal uniform in 2007, registering a team-best 106 tackles to go along with a sack, an interception, three pass breakups and two forced fumbles. DeCoud was also bestowed with the Andy Smith Award (player with the most Big C time), the Most Valuable Back Award and the Court Majors Award (team captain).

Cal will play in a fifth straight bowl game for the first time in program history as the Golden Bears will battle Air Force in the 2007 Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl in Fort Worth, Texas, on Dec. 31. The game will be televised live by ESPN from Amon G. Carter Stadium with kickoff scheduled for 9:30 a.m. Pacific Time (11:30 a.m. Central).

2007 California Football Team Awards

Dink Artal Award (player best exemplifying Cal spirit)

John Allen

Ken Harvey Award (player showing special academic commitment and improvement)

Lavelle Hawkins

Frank J. Schlessinger Coaches Award (player who demonstrates outstanding athletic ability, academic success and community service)

Craig Stevens

Ken Cotton Award (most courageous player)

Mike Gibson

Matt Malele

Stub Allison Award (most inspirational player)

Justin Forsett

Joe Roth Award (player best exemplifying courage, attitude and sportsmanship)

Justin Moye

Andy Smith Award (player with the most Big C time)

Thomas DeCoud

Strength Awards

Senior Lifter of the Year - Greg Van Hoesen

Freshman Lifter of the Year - Brock Mansion

Scout Team Player of the Year Honors

Sam DeMartinis, Michael Calvin, D.J. Campbell, D.J. Holt, John Tyndall, Will Kapp

Berkeley Breakfast Club Award (outstanding players of the Big Game)

Offense: Robert Jordan

Defense: Zack Follett

Everett Merriman Award (player demonstrating a commitment of community service)

Tom Schneider

Most Improved Player

Julian Arthur

Brandon Hampton

Bob Simmons Award (most valuable freshman)

Jahvid Best

Most Valuable Back

Justin Forsett

Thomas DeCoud

Brick Muller Award (most valuable lineman)

Offense: Alex Mack

Defense: Tyson Alualu

Cort Majors Award (team captain)

Craig Stevens

Thomas DeCoud

Pappy Waldorf Coaches Award

Greg Van Hoesen

Special Recognition

Robert Jordan

Bear Backer Award (MVP, as voted by the team)

Justin Forsett

Thomas DeCoud

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder