Sedrick Ellis named 2007 Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year

Dec. 3, 2007

Defensive tackle Sedrick Ellis was named the 2007 Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year and 7 other Trojans were named to the All-Pac-10 first team.

USC's 8 first team selections were the most of any school. In all, 18 Trojans made the All-Pac-10 first team, second team or honorable mention.

Ellis is USC's fifth Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, joining linebackers Duane Bickett (1984), Junior Seau (1989) and Chris Claiborne (1998) and defensive tackle Shaun Cody (2004).

USC had 5 repeaters on the All-Pac-10 first team. Offensive tackle Sam Baker was named for the third consecutive year. Ellis (a unanimous selection in 2007) and linebackers Rey Maualuga and Keith Rivers repeated from last year. Defensive end Lawrence Jackson was a first teamer in 2005.

Joining them on the first team were tight end Fred Davis, offensive guard Chilo Rachal and safety Kevin Ellison.

Cornerback Terrell Thomas made the All-Pac-10 second team for the second year in a row.

Nine Trojans were honorable mention All-Pac-10ers: linebacker Brian Cushing, defensive end Everson Griffen, cornerback Cary Harris, safety Taylor Mays, tailback/punt returner Joe McKnight, offensive tackle Drew Radovich, center Matt Spanos, tailback Chauncey Washington and linebacker Thomas Williams.

Oregon quarterback Dennis Dixon was named the Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year, Washington quarterback Jake Locker was the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Arizona State's Dennis Erickson was the Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder