Dennis Erickson Named A Finalist For the 2007 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

Dec. 5, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University's first-year head football coach Dennis Erickson has been named a finalist for the 2007 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Football Writers Association of America announced today.

Coach Erickson led the Sun Devils to a 10-2 record and a share of the Pac-10 Championship, the third conference title in school history. He was named the Pac-10's Coach of the Year for the third time in his career, one of only three men to ever win the award three times.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non- profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more nearly 1,000 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

The finalists will be placed on a ballot which will be sent out to the entire FWAA membership by. FWAA members will be asked to vote for their top three choices.

The FWAA coaching award is named after the late Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach.

The winner of the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award will be announced and honored at a reception on Jan. 4 in New Orleans in conjunction with the BCS Championship Game.

The Sun Devils will face the Texas Longhorns in the 2007 Pacific Life Holiday Bowl on December 27 in San Diego, California.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder