Dec. 5, 2007

Free safety Dennis Keyes and wide receiver Brandon Breazell were selected winners of UCLA's Henry R. 'Red' Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player at the Annual UCLA Football Awards Banquet, held Wednesday evening at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Keyes is the Bruins' leading tackler. Through 12 games, he has made 106 tackles, the highest total by a Bruin since Spencer Havner made 125 in 2004. Keyes also ranks fourth in the Pac-10 with his average of 8.83 tackles per game.

Breazell leads the Bruins with 47 receptions for 766 yards and three touchdowns. His 47 receptions are the most by a Bruin receiver since Craig Bragg made 73 catches in 2003 and are tied for No. 13 on UCLA's since-season list.

The complete list of winners:

Charles Pike Memorial Award for Outstanding Scout Team Player: Offense: tight end Nate Chandler; Defense: defensive back Courtney Viney

Jack. R. Robinson Award for Highest Scholarship of a Senior Player: center Chris Joseph

N.N. Sugarman Award for Best Leadership: Offense: quarterback Patrick Cowan; Defense: linebacker Christian Taylor

Captain Don Brown Memorial Award for Most Improved Player: Offense: wide receiver Dominique Johnson; Defense: defensive tackle Kevin Brown

John Boncheff, Jr. Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year: Offense: place kicker Kai Forbath; Defense: tackle Brian Price

Tommy Prothro Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player: kick returner Matthew Slater

Kenneth S. Washington Award for Outstanding Senior: defensive end Bruce Davis

George W. Dickerson Award for Outstanding Offensive Player vs. USC: wide receiver Dominique Johnson

Donn Moomaw Award for Outstanding Defensive Player vs. USC: free safety Dennis Keyes

Paul I. Wellman Memorial Award for All-Around Excellence: Offense: guard Chris Joseph; Defense: strong safety Chris Horton and cornerback Trey Brown

Jerry Long 'Heart' Award: wide receiver Brandon Breazell

Henry R. 'Red' Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player: Offense: wide receiver Brandon Breazell; Defense: free safety Dennis Keyes

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder