Six Huskies Earn Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

Dec. 5, 2007

SEATTLE - Six Washington volleyball players were named to the Pac-10 All-Academic team as announced by Commissioner Tom Hansen today. Two UW players received second team recognition while four Huskies garnered honorable mention status.

Senior Ashley Aratani and sophomore Megan McAfee both were second team honorees. Aratani, who has a 3.50 cumulative GPA in Biology, was an honorable mention pick a year ago. This is the first honor for McAfee, who holds a 3.58 GPA and has yet to decide on a major.

Named to the honorable mention team were seniors Alesha Deesing and Christal Morrison, junior Jessica Swarbrick and redshirt freshman Becky Perry. This is the first award for Deesing, Swarbrick and Perry, while Morrison was also an honorable mention pick in 2005.

This is the ninth straight season that Washington has placed at least one athlete on the all-academic team. The six players selected this season marks an all-time high for the Huskies, who have had five players selected twice, in 2004 and 2005.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, the student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point average and be either a starter or significant substitute. True-freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible for the team.

Washington finished its season with a 27-4 record and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the sixth consecutive season before losing 3-2 to BYU in the second round on Dec. 1.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network