UW Football Team Awards Announced

Dec. 6, 2007

SEATTLE - For the second straight year, Husky senior defensive tackle Jordan Reffett took top honors at the Washington football team's annual awards banquet when he was named the winner of the Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational Award. The annual banquet was held Thursday evening at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Seattle.

Reffett, from Moses Lake, Wash., also won the award last year, making him just the second two-time winner in the 100-year history of the award (Tom Wand won it in 1911 and 1912). The Flaherty Award, named after its first winner in 1908, is Washington's oldest and most prestigious individual award.

Senior tailback Louis Rankin (Stockton, Calif.) was named the team's offensive most valuable player while defensive end Daniel Te'o-Nesheim (Waikoloa, Hawaii) was the defensive MVP. Rankin finished the season with 1,294 rushing yards, fifth-most in Husky history. He was the UW's first 1,000-yard rusher since 1997. Te'o-Nesheim led the team in both tackles for loss (15.0) and sacks (8.5) and was fifth on the team with 57 total tackles.

Washington's MVP awards are voted on by members of the team.

Rankin and Reffett were also honored as two of the team's six captains, along with fellow seniors Juan Garcia (Yakima, Wash.), Greyson Gunheim (Santa Rosa, Calif.), Roy Lewis (Los Angeles) and Anthony Russo (Lakewood, Wash.).

Quarterback Jake Locker (Ferndale, Wash.) won the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Player Award for the offense while linebacker E.J. Savannah (Bellevue, Wash.) took home that trophy for the defense. Linebacker Chris Stevens (Mojave, Calif.) won the Special Teams Most Outstanding Player Award.

Reffett, Garcia and Te'o-Nesheim took home awards for their play on the lines. Reffett was the winner of the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Award while Garcia and Te'o-Nesheim were named the the John P. Angel Outstanding Offensive and Defensive Lineman, respectively. Sophomore fullback Paul Homer (Omaha, Neb.) was presented with both the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award and the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award.

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to senior receiver Marcel Reece (Hesperia, Calif.) on offense while safety Darin Harris (Federal Way, Wash.) took the Most Improved honor on defense. The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards winners were Locker on offense and safety Nate Williams (Renton, Wash.) on defense. Husky Fever 12th Man Awards were presented to tackle Cody Habben (Sammamish, Wash.) and fullback Luke Kravitz (Olympia, Wash.) on offense and freshman linebacker Mason Foster (Seaside, Calif.) on defense.

Senior quarterback Carl Bonnell picked up the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award, presented to the student-athlete who excels on the field and volunteers extensively in the community. Senior linebacker Dan Howell (Newhall, Calif.) won the Academic Excellence Award while senior receiver Cody Ellis (Puyallup, Wash.) took home the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award for a second straight season.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to freshman quarterback Ronnie Fouch (Redlands, Calif.) while freshman linebacker Cort Dennison (Salt Lake City was announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was awarded to freshman safety Quinton Richardson (Renton, Wash.).

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Jeff Broadwell, a senior student assistant on the Husky equipment room staff.

2007 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Jordan Reffett

101 Club Academic Award
Cody Ellis

Team MVP Award
Louis Rankin (Offense)
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim (Defense)

Sports Radio 950 KJR Players of the Year
Jake Locker (Offense)
E.J. Savannah (Defense)
Chris Stevens (Special Teams)

KING-TV Most Improved Player
Marcel Reece (Offense)
Darin Harris (Defense)

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Juan Garcia (Offense)
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim (Defense)

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Jordan Reffett

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Paul Homer

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Paul Homer

Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Carl Bonnell

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Ronnie Fouch

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Cort Dennison

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Quinton Richardson

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Jake Locker (Offense)
Nate Williams (Defense)

Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Cody Habben & Luke Kravitz (Offense)
Mason Foster (Defense)

Academic Excellence Award
Dan Howell

Captains Award
Juan Garcia, Greyson Gunheim, Roy Lewis, Louis Rankin, Jordan Reffett &Anthony Russo

Kurt P. Gegner Memorial Award
Jeff Broadwell (Equipment Room Staff)

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder