Clayton in top spot, joins five other Cardinal in West Region rankings

Dec. 11, 2007

Freshman Alex Clayton received the top spot in the ITA Fall Edition West Region singles rankings released December 7 and two other Cardinal singles players placed in the top 10. Three Stanford doubles teams were also ranked, all in the top 7.

Sophomore Richard Wire came in at sixth, and junior Matt Bruch placed ninth in the rankings. Clayton earned the top spot with a 10-2 overall record and a quarterfinal and semifinal finish in the All-American Championships and ITA National Indoor Championships. Wire has gone 8-2 on the year and won the ITA Regional Championships in October, and Bruch is the returning two-time Pac-10 individual champion.

Junior Blake Muller and Freshman Ted Kelly are the second ranked doubles team, followed by Wire and freshman Gregory Hirshman in the fourth spot and Bruch and Clayton occupy the seventh spot to round out the Cardinal representatives in the rankings.

Muller and Kelly are 5-2 and won the ITA Regional Championships in Seattle. Hirshman and Wire are 4-1 and made the finals of the Regional Championships before losing to their Cardinal teammates. Bruch and Clayton beat nationally ranked Sascha Heinemann and Andreas Weber of Hawaii in their only match.

Complete rankings can be viewed at the ITA website here.


1 Alex ClaytonStanford University
2 Robert FarahUniv. of Southern California
3 Bassam BeidasPepperdine
4 Andre BegemannPepperdine
5 Haythem AbidUCLA
6 Richard WireStanford University
7 Thomas LiversageUniv. of San Diego
8 Mathieu DehaineUCLA
9 Matt BruchStanford University
10 Kaes Van'tUniv. of Southern California
11 Harel SrugoUCLA
12 Dean JacksonUniv. of San Diego
13 Claudio ChristenUniv. of Arizona
14 Andy KuharszkyUniversity of Washington
15 Gary SacksUniv. of Southern California
16 James LemkePepperdine
17 Rudolf SiwyFresno State
18 Sascha HeinemannUniv. of Hawaii, Manoa
19 Kiryl HarbatsiukSacramento State
20 Andreas WeberUniv. of Hawaii, Manoa
21 Pierre MouillonCalifornia
22 Omar AltmannPepperdine
23 Bozhidar KatsarovCalifornia
24 Jaak PoldmaUniv. of Southern California
25 Juan RebazaArizona State University
26 Kallim StewartCalifornia
27 Laurent GarcinUniv. of Nevada
28 Philip TherpUC Santa Barbara
29 Mirko ZapletalFresno State
30 Victor LammUC Irvine


1 Kaes Van't Robert Farah Univ. of Southern California
2 Blake Muller Ted Kelly Stanford University
3 Andre Begemann Omar Altmann Pepperdine
4 Richard Wire Gregory Hirshman Stanford University
5 Haythem AbidNick MeisterUCLA
6 Bassam BeidasJames LemkePepperdine
7 Matt BruchAlex ClaytonStanford University
8 Tejesvi VeerepalliMirko ZapletalFresno State
9 Wes MillerMatt BrooklynArizona State University
10 Sascha HeinemannAndreas WeberUniv. of Hawaii, Manoa
11 Thomas LiversageChris CoetzeeUniv. of San Diego
12 Mathieu DehaineHarel SrugoUCLA
13 Pierre MouillonJonathan DahanCalifornia
14 Geoff ChizeverPedro ZerbiniCalifornia
15 Patrik FischerTobi ObenausUniversity of Washington
15 Andy Kuharszky Jeevan NedunchezhiyanUniversity of Washington

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder