Harding, Campbell Named MVPs at Cross Country Awards Banquet

Dec. 11, 2007

SEATTLE -- Juniors Jon Harding and Anita Campbell were recognized for their outstanding cross country seasons with Team MVP honors, as voted by their teammates at the annual Washington Cross Country team banquet held last Thursday.

Campbell led the Husky women to a program-best eighth-place finish at the NCAA Championships, earning first team All-Pac-10 and All-West Region honors, and earning her first All-American award with a 20th-place finish at the National meet. Harding started the season with a course-record win at the Sundodger Invitational, and also led UW at Pre-Nationals and the Pac-10 Championships where he placed 20th.

Additional awards on the women's side were handed out to sophomore Katie Follett, who was a clear choice for the Most Improved award as she ran to her first All-American award with a 19th-place NCAA finish and second team All-Pac-10 honor. Follett and senior Trisha Rasmussen shared the team's Most Inspirational award, and freshman Mel Lawrence, an All-Pac-10 second team member was Newcomer of the Year.

For the men, Harding and junior Caleb Knox shared Most Improved honors, while senior Carl Moe was chosen Most Inspirational for the second straight year, and freshman Max O'Donoghue-McDonald picked up the Newcomer of the Year nod.

In addition to the above awards voted on by Washington's cross country team members, the Huskies' coaches presented awards to sophomores Kelly Spady from the men and Brooke Anderson from the women for their exemplary leadership and major improvements.

Washington's cross country teams will rejoin their UW track and field teammates for the indoor track season which picks up on Jan. 19 with the UW Indoor Preview.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder