Honors Continue To Roll In For Husky Men's Soccer

Dec. 13, 2007

SEATTLE - More postseason honors rolled in for members of the Washington men's soccer team, Thursday, as junior midfielder George John and senior forward Ely Allen were selected to the 2007 NSCAA All-Far West Region team, while Allen and senior forward Kevin Forrest were extended invitations to the 2008 adidas MLS Player Combine, Jan. 11-15.

John, who was an All-Pac-10 first-team selection this year, was named to the NSCAA All-Far West Region second-team for the second-straight year. A team co-captain, John finished out the season with two goals and one assist. Allen, the 2007 Co-Pac-10 Player of the Year and first-team All-Pac-10 honoree, was selected to the NSCAA All-Far West Region third-team. Allen scored a conference-leading 12 goals in his final season, while adding two assists.

Allen and fellow forward Forrest were also invited to take part in the 2008 MLS Combine to be held Jan. 11-15 at Lockhart Stadium in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. The coaching and management staffs of all 14 MLS teams will be in attendance to scout talent at the combine, which concludes three days before the 2008 MLS SuperDraft. The 2008 MLS SuperDraft will be held on Friday, Jan. 18, 2008 in Baltimore, Md.

Allen and Forrest are two of seven forwards selected to participate and are among the group of 54 college seniors who will have the opportunity to showcase their skills as potential draft picks. The Huskies have had a player selected in the MLS SuperDraft the last three-straight seasons: Ty Harden (2007), Mike Chabala (2006) and C.J. Klaas (2005).

2007 NSCAA All-Far West Region Teams

GK, Stefan Frei, So., California
D, Jamil Roberts, Sr., Santa Clara
D, Scott Bolkan, Sr., Stanford
D, Andy Iro, Jr., UC Santa Barbara
MF, Andrew Jacobson, Sr., California
MF, Collen Warner, So., Portland
MF, Peter Lowry, Sr., Santa Clara
MF, Ciaran O'Brien, So., UC Santa Barbara
F, Alex Elliott, Jr., Portland
F, Ismael Ibarra, Sr., San Jose State
F, George Josten, Jr., Gonzaga

GK, Vito Higgins, Sr., Gonzaga
D, Zach Tierney, So., New Mexico
D, Sean Franklin, Jr., CS Northridge
D, Matt Hatzke, Sr., Santa Clara
MF, Joey Mathot, Jr., Denver
MF, Stephen McCarthy, So., Santa Clara
MF, George John, Jr., Washington
MF, Michael Farfan, So., CS Fullerton
F, Eric Avila, Jr., UC Santa Barbara
F, Babjide Ogunbiyi, Jr., Santa Clara
F, Chris Wright, Jr., New Mexico

GK, Mike Graczyk, Sr., New Mexico
D, Mike Zaher, Jr., UCLA
D, Nick Cardenas, So., San Diego State
D, Simon Ejdemyr, So., New Mexico
D, Matt Murphy, Jr., UC Irvine
MF, William Warshaw, Fr., Stanford
MF, Colin Jennings, Sr., San Diego
MF, David Gualdarama, Sr., New Mexico
F, Ely Allen, Sr., Washington
F, Chris Pontius, Sr., UC Santa Barbara
F, Kyle Christensen, Jr. Denver

2007 adidas MLS Player Combine Invitees
GOALKEEPERS (5): Dominic Cervi (University of Tulsa); Brian Edwards (Wake Forest University); Andrew Kartunen (Stanford University); Casey Latchem (Ohio State University); Steve Sandbo (Southern Methodist University);

DEFENDERS (19): Scott Bolkan (Stanford University); Matthew Britner (Brown University); Eric Brunner (Ohio State University); Adrian Chevannes (Southern Methodist University); Sean Franklin (California State University Northridge); Matt Hatzke (Santa Clara University); David Horst (Old Dominion University); Andy Iro (University of California - Santa Barbara); Julius James (University of Connecticut); Jonathan Leathers (Furman University); Rauwshan McKenzie (Michigan State University); Ryan Miller (University of Notre Dame); Brandon Owens (University of California - Los Angeles); Andre Sherard (University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill); Julian Valentin (Wake Forest University); Yomby William (Old Dominion University); David Worthen (University of North Carolina - Greensboro); Mike Zaher (University of California - Los Angeles); Geoff Cameron (University of Rhode Island);

MIDFIELDERS (23): Jeremy Barlow (University of Virginia); Eric Burkholder (University of Tulsa); El Hadj Cisse (North Carolina State University); Hugh Cronin (North Carolina State University); Pavle Dundjer (University of Illinois - Chicago); Joe Germanese (Duke University); Brian Grazier (Saint Louis University); Pat Healy (Towson University); Andrew Jacobson (University of California); George Josten (Gonzaga University); Stephen King (University of Maryland); AJ Kulp (Old Dominion University); Peter Lowry (Santa Clara University); Ryan Maduro (Providence College); Pat Phelan (Wake Forest University); David Roth (Northwestern University); Shea Salinas (Furman University); Luke Sassano (University of California); Ben Shuleva (Southern Methodist University); Dan Stratford (West Virginia University); Michael Videira (Duke University); Andy Wright (University of West Virginia); Cesar Zambrano (University of Illinois -Chicago);

FORWARDS (7): Ely Allen (University of Washington); Xavier Balc (Ohio State University); Ryan Cordeiro (University of Connecticut); Kevin Forrest (University of Washington); Joseph Lapira (University of Notre Dame); Sherron Manswell (Boston College); Lukasz Turnicz (University of Rhode Island)