Foluke Akinradewo Named Honda Award Nominee

Dec. 17, 2007

Stanford, Calif. - Junior middle blocker Foluke Akinradewo has been named one of four finalists for the 2007-08 Honda Sports Award for Women's Volleyball. Akinradewo joins USC's Asia Kaczor and Penn State's Christa Harmotto and Megan Hodge as nominees for the award.

The 6-3 middle blocker was named the Pac-10 and National Player of the Year in 2007. She led the Stanford squad to a 32-3 record, a second consecutive Pac-10 title and an appearance in the National Championship Match. She also shattered a Stanford and Pac-10 hitting percentage record with a NCAA-leading .499 mark. Akinradewo, a three-time All-American, led the team with 1.21 bpg this season and was second on the squad with 4.11 kpg.

Akinradewo earns her second consecutive nomination and is the only repeat nominee this season.

Following nationwide balloting, the winner of the 2007-08 Honda Sports Award for Women's Volleyball will become a nominee for the Honda-Broderick Cup, awarded annually to the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. American Honda will donate $1,000 to the women's athletic fund of each nominee's university, while the university of the winner of the Women's Volleyball Honda Award will receive $5,000.

The Stanford Women's Volleyball program boasts six Honda Award winners - Kristin Folkl (1997), Ogonna Nnamani (2004), Bev Oden (1990), Kim Oden (1985) and Logan Tom (2001, 2002). Including Akinradewo's two, Stanford has had 19 nominations since the program started in 1976-77. In 2004, Nnamani won the Honda-Broderick Cup for Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder