Keegan Herring Named a Finalist For The Rudy Award

Dec. 21, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University football student-athlete Keegan Herring has been named one of four finalists for the Rudy Award, the Rudy Foundation announced today. The Award, named after former Notre Dame football player Daniel 'Rudy' Ruettiger, honors NCAA Division I student-athletes who demonstrate exemplary character, courage, contribution and commitment as members of their collegiate football teams.

Herring, a junior from Peoria, Ariz., leads the Sun Devils with 816 yards on the year, including five rushing touchdowns. He has 2,235 career yards, goo= d for 10th-most in school history. Herring played all year with a heavy heart, as his father, best friend, sister and aunt all passed away prior to the season.

The four finalists were chosen from an impressive field of 26 total nominees. The finalists, listed alphabetically, are: Terry Clayton (University of Kentucky), Keegan Herring (Arizona State University), Robinson Jean (University of Central Florida) and Joey Stutson (Louisiana State University).

Each finalist will be presented with a framed commemorative plaque and an academic scholarship, as well as have their travel expenses paid to the event. An overall winner will be announced and presented with the top scholarship of $5,000, as well as a handsome Rudy Award bronze statue. The three runners-up each will receive a $2,500 scholarship.

'This award is truly unique, and one we hope will soon rank among the nation's top collegiate honors,' said Rudy Ruettiger. 'We will recognize players for the size of their hearts, instead of the enormity of their stats. Our four inaugural finalists certainly fit this criteria, demonstrating extraordinary character, courage, contribution and commitment as members of their teams.'

The Rudy Award Selection Committee is comprised of football coaches Fisher DeBerry, Dennis Franchione, June Jones, Chuck Knox, Gary Patterson, Buddy Pough, Dick Tomey and prominent businessman Peter Murphy, Jr., who serves a= s chairman. Aaron Taylor, former NFL player and broadcaster, will serve as Master of Ceremonies for the program.

Division I collegiate players of any age or year in school were eligible for nomination, provided they were members of the 2007-08 football team. For any finalists presently receiving a full scholarship, the award will be made in the player's name to the general scholarship fund of the college or university.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder