Frank Kush Inducted Into Chick-Fila-A (Peach) Bowl Hall of Fame

Dec. 29, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - A precise passer and a tenacious tactician both,men known for excelling on the football field were inducted this week into the Chick-fil-A Bowl Hall of Fame. Former Purdue quarterback Jim Everett and former Arizona State head coach Frank Kush joined their peers and are among the legends to have touched Atlanta's bowl game tradition.

Recognized as one of the top coaches in NCAA history, Frank Kush led his Sun Devils to a Peach Bowl victory in 1970 with a score of 48-26, thesecond-highest point total in the Bowl's history. That year, his teamfinished the season 11-0 and ranked No. 6 in the AP Poll. Kush led ASU toseven Western Athletic Conference championships, and posted a 6-1 record in post-season bowl games.

Kush is the 19th-winningest Division I coach and has a better record thanWoody Hayes, Earl Blaik, Darrel Royal, Dan Devine, Ara Parseghian and PopWarner. He was named Coach of the Year in 1975 and was inducted into theCollege Football Hall of Fame in 1995.

'These two men represent excellence in the way they prepared for and played the game,' said Chuck Fruit, Chick-fil-A Bowl chairman. 'Jim Everett was a pure passer, and one of the best of his generation. Frank Kush was defined by his dedication to the art of coaching football. Both are an important part in our game's history and great additions to our Hall of Fame.'

In 2002, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Hall of Fame was created to honor formerplayers, coaches and contributors as well as staff and volunteers who havehad a significant impact on the Bowl. There are 22 current members,including players such as Mike Singletary, Reggie White, Jim Kelly andcoaches Bobby Dodd, Vince Dooley and Hayden Fry.

The Chick-fil-A Bowl is the longest-running rivalry series of top-rankedteams from the ACC and SEC and is recognized as one of the most competitive bowl games in the nation over the last 20 years. The Chick-fil-A Bowl owns exclusive rights to the first selection in the ACC after the BCS has increased its total team payout to $5.83 million. This year's game between #15 Clemson and #22 Auburn marked the Bowl's 11th consecutive sellout and helped the Bowl retain its position as the highest-attended non-BCS bowl over the last 10 years.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network