Buehler and Wildman-Tobriner Named As NCAA Top VIII Award Winners

Jan. 10, 2008

Stanford, Calif. - Rachel Buehler (women's soccer) and Ben Wildman-Tobriner (men's swimming/diving) are among eight standout student-athletes that have been chosen by the NCAA Honors Committee as recipients of this year's NCAA Top VIII Award.

This year's NCAA Top VIII Award winners will be recognized for their athletics success, academic achievement and community service at the NCAA Honors Celebration on Sunday, January 13, at the 2008 NCAA Convention in Nashville.

Stanford is well-represented with the selections of Buehler and Wildman-Tobriner. Also being honored are the following: Robert Castro (Georgia Tech, industrial engineering, golf), Dennis Dixon (Oregon, sociology, football), Sarah Pavan (Nebraska, biochemistry, volleyball), Lisa Winkle (Calvin College, mathematics/secondary education, basketball, outdoor track and field), Jamie Wolf (Clarion University, molecular biology, diving) and Sarah Zerzan (Willamette University, chemistry, cross country and outdoor track and field).

A three-time captain, Buehler was an All-Pac-10 Conference first-team selection and a 2007 Hermann Trophy semifinalist. She is a U.S. Women's Soccer National Team pool player, a U-21 National Team member and has represented the United States in three Nordic Cup tournaments. The National Soccer Coaches Association of America first-team All-America Scholar Athlete was chosen as the ESPN Academic All-American of the Year. Buehler, who graduated in December 2007, volunteered at local elementary schools, at a home for the elderly and with Special Olympics.

Wildman-Tobriner earned 20 All-American honors, captured two gold medals at the 2007 FINA World Championships and was named the 2007 Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year. A 2007 NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient and 2007 academic All-American, he graduated in June 2007. Wildman-Tobriner was recognized as Stanford's most outstanding student-athlete and received a Pac-10 Medal, the conference's most prestigious honor. He worked as a swim camp assistant, volunteered with the Boys and Girls Club and was a research associate for neurosurgery at the Stanford Medical Center.The Top VIII Award winners are selected by the NCAA Honors Committee, which is comprised of eight athletics administrators at member institutions and nationally distinguished citizens who are former student-athletes.

Members of the committee are: Gene Corrigan, former Atlantic Coast Conference commissioner; Timothy W. Gleason, (chair) Commissioner, Ohio Athletic Conference; Stephanie Harrison-Dyer, Associate Director of Athletics/Compliance Coordinator, Albany State University (Georgia); Calvin Hill, consultant, Jerry Jones and the NFL's Dallas Cowboys; Jackie Joyner-Kersee, former University of California, Los Angeles, track and field student-athlete and Olympian; Gibbs Knotts, faculty athletic representative, Western Carolina University; Julie Powers Ruppert, Senior Woman Administrator and Associate Commissioner, America East Conference and Barbara Walker, Senior Associate Director of Athletics/Senior Woman Administrator, Wake Forest University.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder