Bellama, Aranco Win in Day One of ASU Spring Invitational

Jan. 11, 2008

The Arizona State men's tennis team competed in their first competition of 2008 as they hosted athletes from Illinois, Rice and Texas at the first annual ASU Spring Invitational. The singles competition was separated into two flights, the Gold Flight and the Maroon Flight.

In the Gold Flight, Andres Aranco, who joined the team this spring, won his debut match as a Sun Devil. He defeated No. 52 ranked Ed Corrie of Texas 6-4; 6-3. Matt Brooklyn nearly upset No. 24 ranked Kellan Damico of Texas, but fell in the final set. The final score was 6-3; 6-0; 7-5. Sun Devil newcomer John Nanosky II also took his opponent to the wire but fell 6-7 (4); 6-4; 7-6 (3) to John Zavala from Texas. Wes Miller dropped his match in the Gold Flight 6-3, 6-4 to Texas' Luis Diaz Barriga. Juan Carlos Rebaza fell 6-2; 6-4 to Dimitar Kutrovsky of Texas.

In the Maroon Flight, the lone Sun Devil competing was T.J. Bellama who won his match, 6-3; 6-4 over Hubert Chodkiewicz of Texas. Wes Miller and John Nanosky II won their doubles match, defeating Dimitar Kutrovsky and Josh Zavala of Texas 8-6. Brooklyn and Bellama had a very competitive doubles match against Texas' Barriga and Damico but fell 9-8 (5). Aranco and Rebaza dropped a close match to Corrie and Chodkiewcz 8-6 as did Jack Marsh and Patrick Brogan, who fell 8-5 to Jon Wiegand and Miquel Reyes Varela.

Gold Flight:
Bruno Rosa (Rice) def. Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) 4-6; 6-3; 6-2
Christoph Műller (Rice) def. Marc Spicijaric (Illinois) 6-1; 6-0
Billy Heiser (Illinois) def. Ralph Knupfer (Rice) 6-3; 7-6 (2)
Brandon Davis (Illinois) def. Chong Wang (Rice) 6-0; 6-0
Dimitar Kutrovsky (Texas) def. Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) 6-2; 6-4
Andres Aranco (ASU) def. Ed Corrie (Texas) 6-4; 6-3
Kellen Damico (Texas) def. Matt Brooklyn (ASU) 6-3; 6-0; 7-5
Josh Zavala (Texas) def. John Nanosky II (ASU) 6-7 (4); 6-4; 7-6 (3)
Luis Diaz Barriga (Texas) def. Wes Miller (ASU) 6-3; 6-4

Maroon Flight:
Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) def. Abe Souza (Illinois) 6-4; 7-5
Tobias Scheil (Rice) def. Jonah Kane-West (Texas) 6-2
Jon Wiegand (Texas) def. Hoony Shin (Rice) 6-2; 6-1
Rook Schellenberg (Texas) def. Dennis Polvakov (Rice) 6-2; 7-6 (4)
T.J. Bellama (ASU) def. Hubert Chodkiewicz (Texas) 6-3; 6-4

Sparky Doubles Flight:
Wes Miller/ John Nanosky II (ASU) def. Dimitar Kutrovsky/Josh Zavala (Texas) 8-6
Brandon Davis/Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) def. Chong Wang/ Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) 8-0
Billy Heiser/ Ryan Rowe (Illinois) def. Ralph Knupfer/Christoph Műller (Rice) 8-2
Bruno Rosa/ Tobias Scheil (Rice) def. Abe Souza/ Marc Spicijaric (Illinois) 8-5
Ed Corrie/ Hubert Chodkiewicz (Texas) def. Andres Aranco/Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) 8-6
Luis Diaz Barriga/ Kellen Damico (Texas) def. Matt Brooklyn/T.J. Bellama (ASU) 9-8 (5)
Jon Wiegand/ Miquel Reyes Varela (Texas) def. Patrick Brogan/Jack Marsh (ASU) 8-5

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder