Sun Devils Win Four Singles and Two Doubles Matches In Day Two of Tournament

Jan. 12, 2008

The Sun Devils had a successful day two of the ASU Spring Invitational against the athletes from Illinois, who were finalists at last year's NCAA tournament. In doubles, the Sun Devils won two of the three matches. The team of Matt Brooklyn and T.J. Bellama fought back an early deficit to win their match 8-6 over Brandon Davis and Ruben Gonzales of Illinois. Andres Arango and Juan Carlos Rebaza prevailed over Illinois' Abe Souza and Jordan Knue in an 8-5 victory. The match between Sun Devils Wes Miller and John Nanosky II and Illinois' Ryan Rowe and Billy Heiser proved to be an exciting one after going into seven tiebreakers but Miller and Nanosky eventually fell 9-8 (7).

In the Gold Flight, Arango won his second match of the weekend. After splitting his first two set, the newcomer won his third set 6-3, 3-6, 6-2 to defeat Illinois Ryan Rowe. Miller also won his match. The junior defeated Marc Spicijaric of Illinois 6-3, 7-6 (6). Brooklyn dropped his first set 6-3 and then fell in a hard fought 7-6 (6) set to Ruben Gonzales. Rebaza fell in three sets 6-3, 3-6, 6-4 to Billy Heiser.

In the Maroon Flight, Bellama won his second match of the weekend in the Maroon Flight. Bellama handily defeated Illinois' Brandon Davis in the first set 6-1. He then overcame an early deficit in the second set to prevail 7-6 (6). Nanosky won his first set against Abe Souza of Illinois 6-4 but dropped his second one 3-6. He came back in the third set to win the match 6-4, 3-6, 6-4.

The Sun Devils will conclude the invitational tomorrow. The Sun Devils will be playing at the Village Racquet and Health Club located at 4444 E. Camelback road.

Gold Flight:
Day One:
Bruno Rosa (Rice) def. Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) 4-6; 6-3; 6-2
Christoph Műller (Rice) def. Marc Spicijaric (Illinois) 6-1; 6-0
Billy Heiser (Illinois) def. Ralph Knupfer (Rice) 6-3; 7-6 (2)
Brandon Davis (Illinois) def. Chong Wang (Rice) 6-0; 6-0
Dimitar Kutrovsky (Texas) def. Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) 6-2; 6-4
Andres Aranco (ASU) def. Ed Corrie (Texas) 6-4; 6-3
Kellen Damico (Texas) def. Matt Brooklyn (ASU) 6-3; 6-0; 7-5
Josh Zavala (Texas) def. John Nanosky II (ASU) 6-7 (4); 6-4; 7-6 (3)
Luis Diaz Barriga (Texas) def. Wes Miller (ASU) 6-3; 6-4
Day Two:Christoph Műller (Rice) def. Kellan Damico (Texas) 6-0, 6-3
Bruno Rosa (Rice) def. Dimitar Kutrovsky (Texas) 7-6 (8), 6-2
Ed Corrie (Texas) def. Ralph Knupfer (Rice) 7-5, 6-1
Luis Diaz Barriga (Texas) def. Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) 7-5, 6-1
Wes Miller (ASU) def. Marc Spicijaric (Illinois) 6-3, 7-6 (6)
Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) def. Matt Brooklyn (ASU) 6-3, 7-6 (6)

Maroon Flight:
Day One:Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) def. Abe Souza (Illinois) 6-4; 7-5
Tobias Scheil (Rice) def. Jonah Kane-West (Texas) 6-2
Jon Wiegand (Texas) def. Hoony Shin (Rice) 6-2; 6-1
Rook Schellenberg (Texas) def. Dennis Polvakov (Rice) 6-2; 7-6 (4)
T.J. Bellama (ASU) def. Hubert Chodkiewicz (Texas) 6-3; 6-4
Miguel Reyes Varela (Texas) def. Patrick Brogan (ASU) 6-4, 6-4
Milan Mihailovic (Texas) def. Jack Marsh (ASU) 6-3, 6-0
Day Two:
Milan Mihailovic (Texas) def. Tobias Scheil (Rice) 6-4, 6-0
Hoony Shin (Rice) def. Josh Zavala (Texas) 4-6, 6-2, 6-2
T.J. Bellama (ASU) def. Brandon Davis (Illinois) 6-1, 7-6 (6)
John Nanosky II (ASU) def. Abe Souza (Illinois) 6-4, 3-6, 6-4

Sparky Doubles Flight:
Day One:
Wes Miller/ John Nanosky II (ASU) def. Dimitar Kutrovsky/Josh Zavala (Texas) 8-6
Brandon Davis/Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) def. Chong Wang/ Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) 8-0
Billy Heiser/ Ryan Rowe (Illinois) def. Ralph Knupfer/Christoph Műller (Rice) 8-2
Bruno Rosa/ Tobias Scheil (Rice) def. Abe Souza/ Marc Spicijaric (Illinois) 8-5
Ed Corrie/ Hubert Chodkiewicz (Texas) def. Andres Arango/Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) 8-6
Luis Diaz Barriga/ Kellen Damico (Texas) def. Matt Brooklyn/T.J. Bellama (ASU) 9-8 (5)
Jon Wiegand/ Miquel Reyes Varela (Texas) def. Patrick Brogan/Jack Marsh (ASU) 8-5
Day Two:Luis Diaz Barriga/Kellan Damico (Texas) def. Ralph Knupfer/Tobias Scheil (Rice) 8-4
Ed Corrie/Hubert Chodkiewicz (Texas) def. Christoph Műller/Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) 8-6
Dimitar Kutrovsky/ Jon Weigand (Texas) def. Dennis Polvakov/Hoony Shin (Rice) 8-1
Bruno Rosa/Chong Wang (Rice) def. Miquel Reyes Varela/ Josh Zavala (Texas) 9-7
Andres Arango/Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) def. Abe Souza/Jordan Knue (Illinois) 8-5
T.J. Bellama/Matt Brooklyn (ASU) def. Brandon Davis/Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) 8-6
Ryan Rowe/Billy Heiser (Illinois) def. Wes Miller/John Nanosky II (ASU) 9-8 (7)

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network