ASU Spring Invitational Concludes

Jan. 13, 2008

The final day of the ASU Spring Invitational concluded with the Sun Devils taking on the athletes from Rice University. ASU tabbed three singles victory and one doubles victory.

Juan Carlos Rebaza had a successful day for the Sun Devils. The senior won his singles match, taking both sets from Rice's Ralph Knupfer 6-2, 6-3. He also partnered up with Andres Arango in doubles to defeat Chong Wang and Bruno Rosa 8-3.

Wes Miller continued his successful weekend. The junior dropped his first set 4-6 but came back to win the next two 6-3, 6-2 over Filip Zivojinovic. Battling out both sets, John Nanosky II won his singles match as well 7-6 (4), 7-5.

The doubles team of T.J. Bellama and Matt Brooklyn fought hard but fell after nine tiebreakers 9-8 (9). Miller and Nanosky were also defeated, losing 8-3 to Zivojinovic and Mûller.

Brooklyn had a tough singles match, facing Rice's Bruno Rosa. The 2007 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year fought hard, taking the first set to nine tiebreakers but eventually fell 7-6 (9), 6-4. Arango took his opponent to three sets but eventually fell 6-3, 6-7 (2), 6-2 to Mûller. Bellama also dropped his singles match to Chong Wang 6-0, 6-1.

The Sun Devils host Gonzaga and Northern Arizona in a double header on Sunday January 27. The match against Gonzaga begins at 9 a.m. while the action against NAU begins at 1 p.m. at Whiteman Tennis Center.

Gold Flight:
Day One:
Bruno Rosa (Rice) def. Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) 4-6; 6-3; 6-2
Christoph Mûller (Rice) def. Marc Spicijaric (Illinois) 6-1; 6-0
Billy Heiser (Illinois) def. Ralph Knupfer (Rice) 6-3; 7-6 (2)
Brandon Davis (Illinois) def. Chong Wang (Rice) 6-0; 6-0
Dimitar Kutrovsky (Texas) def. Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) 6-2; 6-4
Andres Aranco (ASU) def. Ed Corrie (Texas) 6-4; 6-3
Kellen Damico (Texas) def. Matt Brooklyn (ASU) 6-3; 6-0; 7-5
Josh Zavala (Texas) def. John Nanosky II (ASU) 6-7 (4); 6-4; 7-6 (3)
Luis Diaz Barriga (Texas) def. Wes Miller (ASU) 6-3; 6-4
Day Two:
Christoph Mûller (Rice) def. Kellan Damico (Texas) 6-0, 6-3
Bruno Rosa (Rice) def. Dimitar Kutrovsky (Texas) 7-6 (8), 6-2
Ed Corrie (Texas) def. Ralph Knupfer (Rice) 7-5, 6-1
Luis Diaz Barriga (Texas) def. Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) 7-5, 6-1
Wes Miller (ASU) def. Marc Spicijaric (Illinois) 6-3, 7-6 (6)
Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) def. Matt Brooklyn (ASU) 6-3, 7-6 (6)
Day Three:
Dimitar Kutrovsky (Texas) def. Ruben Gonzalez (Illinois) 7-6 (4), 6-3
Ed Corrie (Texas) def. Ryan Rowe (Illinois) 7-6 (0), Ret.
Billy Heiser (Illinois) def. Kellen Damico (Texas) 6-7 (6), 7-5, 10-7
Bruno Rosa (Rice) def. Matt Brooklyn (ASU) 7-6 (9), 6-4
Christoph Mûller (Rice) def. Andres Arango (ASU) 6-3, 6-7 (1), 6-2
Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) def. Ralph Knupfer (Rice) 6-2, 6-3
Wes Miller (ASU) def. Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) 4-6, 6-3, 6-2

Maroon Flight:
Day One:
Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) def. Abe Souza (Illinois) 6-4; 7-5
Tobias Scheil (Rice) def. Jonah Kane-West (Texas) 6-2
Jon Wiegand (Texas) def. Hoony Shin (Rice) 6-2; 6-1
Rook Schellenberg (Texas) def. Dennis Polvakov (Rice) 6-2; 7-6 (4)
T.J. Bellama (ASU) def. Hubert Chodkiewicz (Texas) 6-3; 6-4
Miguel Reyes Varela (Texas) def. Patrick Brogan (ASU) 6-4, 6-4
Milan Mihailovic (Texas) def. Jack Marsh (ASU) 6-3, 6-0
Day Two:
Milan Mihailovic (Texas) def. Tobias Scheil (Rice) 6-4, 6-0
Hoony Shin (Rice) def. Josh Zavala (Texas) 4-6, 6-2, 6-2
T.J. Bellama (ASU) def. Brandon Davis (Illinois) 6-1, 7-6 (6)
John Nanosky II (ASU) def. Abe Souza (Illinois) 6-4, 3-6, 6-4
Day Three:
Miguel Reyes Varela (Texas) def. Brandon Davis (Illinois) 6-1, 7-6 (5)
Rook Schellenberg (Texas) def. Abe Souza (Illinois) 6-3, 6-4
Jonah Kane-West (Texas) def. Jordan Knue (Illinois) 7-5, 6-3
Jon Wiegand (Texas) def. Murilo Souza (ASU) 3-6, 6-3, 10-8
John Nanosky II (ASU) def. Tobias Shiel (Rice) 7-6 (4), 7-5
Chong Wang def. T.J. Bellama (ASU) 6-0, 6-1

Sparky Doubles Flight:
Day One:
Wes Miller/ John Nanosky II (ASU) def. Dimitar Kutrovsky/Josh Zavala (Texas) 8-6
Brandon Davis/Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) def. Chong Wang/ Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) 8-0
Billy Heiser/ Ryan Rowe (Illinois) def. Ralph Knupfer/Christoph Mûller (Rice) 8-2
Bruno Rosa/ Tobias Scheil (Rice) def. Abe Souza/ Marc Spicijaric (Illinois) 8-5
Ed Corrie/ Hubert Chodkiewicz (Texas) def. Andres Arango/Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) 8-6
Luis Diaz Barriga/ Kellen Damico (Texas) def. Matt Brooklyn/T.J. Bellama (ASU) 9-8 (5)
Jon Wiegand/ Miquel Reyes Varela (Texas) def. Patrick Brogan/Jack Marsh (ASU) 8-5
Day Two:
Luis Diaz Barriga/Kellan Damico (Texas) def. Ralph Knupfer/Tobias Scheil (Rice) 8-4
Ed Corrie/Hubert Chodkiewicz (Texas) def. Christoph Mûller/Filip Zivojinovic (Rice) 8-6
Dimitar Kutrovsky/ Jon Weigand (Texas) def. Dennis Polvakov/Hoony Shin (Rice) 8-1
Bruno Rosa/Chong Wang (Rice) def. Miquel Reyes Varela/ Josh Zavala (Texas) 9-7
Andres Arango/Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) def. Abe Souza/Jordan Knue (Illinois) 8-5
T.J. Bellama/Matt Brooklyn (ASU) def. Brandon Davis/Ruben Gonzales (Illinois) 8-6
Ryan Rowe/Billy Heiser (Illinois) def. Wes Miller/John Nanosky II (ASU) 9-8 (7)
Day Three:
Ruben Gonzalez / Ryan Rowe (Illinois) def. Kellen Damico / Louis Diaz Barriga (Texas) 8-4
Brandon Davis / Billy Heiser (Illinois) def. Hubert Chodkiewicz (Texas) 8-4
Josh Zavala / Bernhard Deussner (Texas) def. Jordan Knue / Abe Souza (Illinois) 8-4
Tobias Schiel/Ralph Knupfer (Rice) def. T.J. Bellama/Matt Brooklyn (ASU) 9-8 (9)
Christoph Mûller/Filip Ziviojinovic (Rice) def. Wes Miller/John Nanosky II (ASU) 8-5
Andres Arango/Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) def. Chong Wang/Bruno Rose (Rice) 8-3

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder