Men and Women's Swimming and Diving Teams Fall to Minnesota

Jan. 19, 2008

Despite strong victories from dual victories from Ashton Aubry and Caitlin Andrew and three victories from CJ Nuess, the Arizona State men and women's swimming and diving teams fell to Minnesota. The women fell 170-129 while the men lost 173-110.

The meet started off well for the women. The Sun Devil women's medley relay team of Jen Beckberger, Sara McDaniel, Caitlin Andrew and Jess Perazzo finished first with a time of 1:42.47.

Sweeney won the one meter dive with a score of 309.68, an NCAA automatic qualifying dive. Erin Hobbs and Brittany Jumer placed third and fourth respectively in the women's three meter.

Touching in at 9:15.98, CJ Nuess won the 1000 free for the men. Christine Mauro came in at 10:12.72 to place third on the women's side. In the next event, the 200 free, Beckberger placed third coming in at 1:50.57.

Andrew had the first victory for the women. The senior All-American had an NCAA consideration time of 54.75. On the men's side Ante Cvitkovic placed third with a time of 50.39. In the 100 breast, Sara McDaniel clocked in a time of 1:04.05 to place second overall. Eddy Salcido placed third on the men's side, coming in at 56.90.

Ashton Aubry won the women's 200 fly. The sophomore clocked in an NCAA consideration time of 2:01.19. Sean Boyle placed second in the men's 200 fly with a time of 1:49.50. In the 50 free, Jess Perazzo touched in at 23.74 to place second overall. Steve Neuwert came in third for the men with a time of 20.75.

At the diving break, Hobbs placed second overall in the one meter with a score of 263.35. The teams moved to the 100 free after the break where Beckberger placed second, coming in at 51.23. Neuwert and Madwa placed second and third in the men's 100 free with times of 45.65 and 47.11 respectively.

Andrew tabbed her second victory of the day in the 200 back. Andrew, who earlier this season broke the 200 back record, clocked in a NCAA consideration time of 2:00.83. Rikka Brunner placed second coming in at 2:02.51. On the men's side, Cvitkovic and Max Laney placed second and third respectively with times of 1:50.90 and 1:52.45.

Mauro placed third overall in the 500 free, coming in at 5:00.28. Nuess won the event on the men's side with a time of 4:30.97. Aubry had her second event victory of the day with a time of 55.35 in the 100 fly. Boyle won the event on the men's side, coming in at 49.39. In the second diving break, Sweeney placed third in the three meter with a score of 311.55.

Ashley Evans won the women's 200 IM, coming in at 2:00.96, an NCAA consideration dive. Nuess won his third event of the day in the men's 400 IM. His time of 3:53.66 is an NCAA consideration time.

The women's relay team of Andrew, Beckberger, Lindsey Brown and Perazzo won the 200 free relay. Their time of 1:33.27 is an NCAA consideration time. The men's team of Neuwert, Miran Terzic, Madwa and Boyle placed second with at ime of 1:23.08.

The Sun Devils head to the Bay Area next weekend to compete against Pac-10 foes California and Stanford. Stanford's meet is on Friday January 25 while the Sun Devils will compete against Cal on Saturday.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder