Press and O'Hara Named to U-20 Women's National Team

Jan. 19, 2008

Sophomore Kelley O'Hara and freshman Christen Press were selected to the U-20 Women's National Team, which will compete in the U-20 Women's World Cup Nov. 20- Dec. 7 in Chile. The squad will begin an seven-day training camp at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif., that will begin on Saturday, Jan. 19.

U.S. Head Coach Jillian Ellis has called upon 26 players that she feels will have a strong opportunity to eventually represent their country on the senior level. 'We have selected and invited players that have shown the desire to represent their country in the 2008 World Cup in pursuit of one day playing for the USA at the senior level,' said Ellis. 'This initial camp to start the year will feature a lot of evaluation as we are looking at players from the college ranks as well as some players that have done well with our younger teams. In these early stages, it's important that we try to look at as many players as possible.'

O'Hara is the only player on the roster who represented the U.S. at the 2006 FIFA U-20 Women¹s World Championship in Russia. O¹Hara scored twice in that tournament, against DR Congo in the first round and against Germany in the 4-1 quarterfinal victory. O'Hara was named First Team All-Pacific 10 this past season.

Press burst onto the scene last year and made an immediate impact in her rookie campaign on The Farm. She was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and was also All Pacific-10, being named to the Honorable Mention team.

2008 U.S. Under-20 Women¹s National Team Roster

January 19-26
The Home Depot Center
Carson, Calif.

Goalkeepers (2): Alyssa Naeher (Penn State), Kristin Olsen (USC);

Defenders (6): Lauren Barnes (UCLA), Hannah Cerrone (Boston College), LaurenFowlkes (Notre Dame), Camille Levin (Slammers FC), Ella Stephan (FloridaState), Lauren Wilmoth (UCLA);

Midfielders (11): Carolyn Blank (West Virginia), Amanda DaCosta (FloridaState), Becky Edwards (Florida State), Katy Frierson (Homewood, Ala.), KaleyFountain (Wake Forest), Teresa Noyola (MVLA Mercury), Megan Ohai (USC), ElliReed (Utah Avalanche Premier), Ashli Sandoval (USC), Keelin Winters(Portland), Kylie Wright (UCLA);

Forwards (9): Lauren Alwine (Super Nova FC ¹89), Gina DiMartino, (BostonCollege), Michelle Enyeart (Portland), Marika Gray (Virginia Tech), MelissaHenderson (Dallas Texans), Sydney Leroux (Sereno FC), Kelley O'Hara(Stanford), Christen Press (Stanford), Brittney Steinbruch (Miami).

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder