Walker Added to State Farm Wade Watch List

Jan. 23, 2008

BERKELEY, Calif. - California junior forward/center Ashley Walker has been added to the State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List for the second straight season. The State Farm Wade Trophy is one of several awards that recognize the National Player of the Year.

The selection committee for the Wade Trophy also added Natalie Doma (Idaho State) and Amber Holt (Middle Tennessee) to the list based on their performances throughout the season. The trio joins 25 players selected during the preseason and one added in December, all of whom were chosen by a committee of leading coaches, journalists and basketball administrators.

The award is given to the top Division I student-athlete who best embodies the spirit of Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

Walker leads Cal in scoring (16.6 ppg, 3rd Pac-10), rebounding (9.6 rpg, 1st Pac-10), offensive rebounds (4.06 rpg, 1st Pac-10) blocks (1.6 bpg, 2nd Pac-10), free throw percentage (.788, 3rd Pac-10) and double-doubles (nine, 1st Pac-10). The Modesto, Calif., product has 29 career double-doubles.

Walker ranks eighth in Cal history in career scoring with 1266 points and third in blocks with 125. She and Heli Toikka (1102 points, 101 blocks) are the only two players in school history to record at least 1000 points and 100 blocks.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 30th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This highly prestigious award, regarded as the 'Heisman of Women's Basketball', is organized by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The 2008 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced at the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four in Tampa, Fla., April 5-8, 2008.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder