Low and Weaver Named Midseason Candidates for Wooden and Naismith Awards

Jan. 27, 2008

PULLMAN, Wash. - Washington State University men's basketball senior Derrick Low has been named as one of 30 midseason candidates for the John R. Wooden Award, while his classmate Kyle Weaver earned a spot on the midseason top-30 list for the Naismith Award, the two organizations announced.

Low, a candidate for the Wooden Award, leads the nationally ranked Cougars with 14.1 points per game, including 15.7 points per game in WSU's seven Pacific-10 Conference games. The 6-2 guard from Honolulu, Hawaii has led the team in scoring seven times and in steals eight times this season, and has put up four 20-plus point performances. Earlier this season Low became the 28th Cougar to score 1,000 career points and as of Jan. 27 ranks 20th in school history for career points with 1,062. He also holds spots in the WSU career record books for 3-pointers made (sixth), 3-point field goal percentage (10th), free throw percentage (third), assists (13th), assists average (20th), steals (10th) and steals average (16th).

Weaver, a candidate for the Naismith Award, ranks third on the team with 11.1 points per game, second in assists and steals per game with 4.4 and 4.7, respectively and leads the team with 1.8 steals per outing. The 6-6 guard from Beloit, Wis. has lead the Cougars in steals 10 times, in assists seven times and in rebounding three times this season. Last season Weaver recorded the first triple-double in school history at Stanford with 14 points, 13 rebounds and 10 assists. He is currently on track to become the 29th player in WSU men's basketball history to reach the 1,000-point milestone as he has 947 career points with at least 12 games remaining on the schedule. Weaver also holds several positions in the WSU career record books including assists (fifth), assists average (fifth), blocks (11th), blocks average (13th), steals (fourth) and steals average (eighth).

The Wooden Award goes to the nation's top player and will be presented at the award ceremony April 12 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club. The top-five finalists will be invited to L.A. for the ceremony and receive a contribution to their university's general scholarship fund.

The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is awarded annually to the men's collegiate player of the year. The list of 30 candidates will be cut down to four the week of Feb. 18-22. In April the Naismith Trophy winner will be recognized at the NCAA Men's Final Four in San Antonio, Texas.

As a conference, the Pac-10 leads the nation with seven players selected to the Wooden Award list, while seven student-athletes also represent the league on the Naismith Trophy list.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder