Arizona, Arizona State Lead Softball Preseason Coaches Poll

Jan. 29, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - Two-time defending National Champion ARIZONA tops the 2008 Softball Collegiate Preseason Poll, the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) announced today. The Wildcats (487 pts.) received 14 first-place votes.

ARIZONA STATE (468 pts.) is ranked No. 2 and also received three first-place votes. Trailing only three points behind the Sun Devils is Texas A&M, who received two first-place votes. Alabama (425 pts.) leads the SEC conference at No. 4 and rounding out the top five is defending Big 12 Champion Oklahoma (410 pts.).

UCLA jumps eight spots from the year-end poll to No. 10 after finishing last season ranked 18th. WASHINGTON sits at No. 14 after last year's Women's College World Series run that ended with the Huskies tied for third.

STANFORD is ranked 17th in the poll with OREGON STATE following closely, ranking No. 19. OREGON rounds out the Conference representatives in the top-25 at No. 23, with CALIFORNIA also receiving votes in the poll.

The Pac-10 leads the eight conferences that are represented on the poll with seven teams and three ranked in the top-10. The Big 12 is second with five teams ranked in the top-25, also with three teams ranked in the top- 10. The SEC, Big Ten and ACC all have three schools in the top-25 while the Big East, WAC, Sun Belt and Big West all have one school in the rankings.

The first regular season poll will be released Feb. 12 and continue on a weekly basis throughout the season. Softball Preseason Poll
Rank Team (First Place Votes)
1. Arizona (14)
2. Arizona St. (3)

3. Texas A&M (2)
4. Alabama
5. Oklahoma
6. Northwestern
7. LSU
8. DePaul
9. Baylor
10. UCLA (1)
11. Tennessee
12. Michigan
13. Florida
14. Washington
15. Virginia Tech
16. Hawaii
17. Stanford
18. Georgia Tech
19. Oregon State
20. Louisiana-Lafayette
21. Missouri
22. Ohio State
23. Oregon
T24. Cal St. Fullerton
T24. Texas

Others receiving votes: Massachusetts (21); South Carolina (18); California (17); Houston (16); Florida State (14); Fresno State (13); Creighton (13); Nebraska (13); Georgia (13); North Carolina (12); Louisville (7); Southern Illinois (6); Long Beach State (6); Loyola Marymount (6); BYU (6); South Florida (5); Illinois State (5); Mississippi State (4); NC State (2); UNLV (2); Cal Poly - San Luis Obispo (2).

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder