Virginia captures title at ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship

Feb. 18, 2008

SEATTLE - Top-seeded Virginia beat No.3 Ohio State 4-1 in Monday's final at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association National Men's Team Indoor Championship at the Nordstrom Tennis Center. The University of Washington was hosting this year's event.

This is Virginia's first-ever Team Indoor title. The Cavaliers (11-0) won the doubles point in today's final and got wins from freshman Sanam Singh and seniors Somdev Devvarman and Treat Huey. Huey clinched the match at No. 3 singles, beating Bryan Koniecko 7-5, 7-6(8).

Singh beat Ohio State's Shuhei Uzawa 6-2, 6-3 at No. 4 singles and Devvarmen topped Kronauge at No. 1, 6-1, 6-3. Singh, a freshman from Chandigarh, India, went 4-0 in the No. 4 spot this week, without dropping a set. He and Michael Shabaz went 2-1 in doubles matches.

The doubles point started the match off, showing just how evenly matched the two teams were. After Devvarman and Huey won at No. 1, 8-5, Ohio State got a win at No. 2 from Drew Eberly and Justin Kronauge, 9-8(6). The point came down to the No. 3 doubles match, where Singh and Michael Shabaz pulled out a 9-8(4) tie-break win over Bryan Koniecko and Steven Moneke.

'What can you do? We've got a rock solid team at No. 3 doubles,' Ohio State head coach Ty Tucker said. 'It came down to the doubles point. You know, against real good teams, it usually does come down to the doubles point. So it's not a real big shock to us. You know, [Sanam Singh and Somdev Devvarman] beat up on us pretty good at 1 and 4, and when they get two quick points like that, we find ourselves having to win at 2, 3, 5 and 6. We put ourselves in position to win, but not every tiebreaker's going to go your way, not every point's going to go your way. But at the end of the day, the Buckeyes fight real hard, so as a coach, that's all I can ask.'

This was Ohio State's second finals appearance in as many years; in 2007, they lost to Georgia 4-0.

'I was happy that we scored a point,' Tucker said. 'Last year it was 4-0, this year it was 4-1, next year it'll be 4-2, so I'm thinking by 2013, we might beat someone.'

Virginia was also a second-time finalist; in 2005, they lost to Baylor 4-1 in the final match.

'It was a great match,' Virginia head coach Brian Boland said. 'We gotta give Ohio State a lot of credit. They played really hard, and I thought it was a tremendous college tennis match. It was exciting to be a part of it. I was really proud of our guys, the way they pulled off the doubles point, which was highly contested. I really thought that helped give us some momentum going into the singles, although Ohio State kept battling. It was an extremely competitive match, and I just couldn't be more proud of our team. They've worked so hard and they've come together, and this is an exciting moment for us and we're going to enjoy it.'

Ohio State beat No. 2 Georgia 4-1 in Sunday's semifinals. Virginia beat No. 5 Mississippi 4-2.

This event, which features 16 of the nation's top programs, has annually crowned a national indoor champion every year since 1973. This is the third time in five years Nordstrom Tennis Center, Seattle Tennis Club and Washington have served as hosts.

NCAA/Team Indoor title sweeps in same season
Stanford - 1973, '78, '90, '92, '98 and 2000
UCLA - 1984
Illinois - 2003
Georgia - 2007

No. 1 Virginia 4, No. 3 Ohio State 1

1. Somdev Devvarman/Treat Huey (UVA) def. Matt Allare/Mike O'Connell, 8-5
2. Drew Eberly/Justin Kronauge (OSU) def. Houston Barrick/Dominic Inglot, 9-8(6)
3.Sanam Singh/Michael Shabaz (UVA) def. Bryan Koniecko/Steven Moneke (OSU), 9-8(4)
[UVA won doubles point]

1. Somdev Devvarman (UVA) def. Justin Kronauge (OSU), 6-1, 6-3
2. Steven Moneke (OSU) def. Dominic Inglot (UVA), 6-2, 6-2
3. Treat Huey (UVA) def. Bryan Koniecko (OSU), 7-5, 7-6(8)*
4. Sanam Singh (UVA) def. Shuhei Uzawa (OSU), 6-2, 6-3
5. Houston Barrick (UVA) vs. Matt Allare (OSU), 6-7(3), 7-6(6), 2-1, DNF
6. Ted Angelinos (UVA) vs. Drew Eberly (OSU), 4-6, 6-6, DNF
Order of finish (singles): 4, 1, 2, 3*

DNF - Did not finish
* - clinched match

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network