USA Baseball Unveils Pre-season 2008 Golden Spikes Award Watch List

Feb. 19, 2008

(DURHAM, NC) - USA Baseball announced today its pre-season Golden Spikes Award Watch List. The release of the watch list marks USA Baseball's first step toward identifying the top player in college baseball.

The initial list - the first ever of its kind for the Golden Spikes Award - features 75 of the nation's top collegiate talents, as nominated by baseball sports information directors across the country. The watch list will also be 'rolling' to ensure that athletes who play themselves into consideration by USA Baseball for the Golden Spikes Award are not ignored. The Golden Spikes Award is sponsored by Major League Baseball, and 2008 marks the 31stinstallment of the award.

Conferences boasting the most watch list nominations include the SEC with 15 names, the ACC and PAC 10 each have 10 members, and the Big 12 has eight (8) nominees.

''We think we have a comprehensive list of names on this rolling, initial Golden Spikes Award watch list,' says Eric Campbell, USA Baseball National Teams General Manager.

'We also look forward, however, to watching the season unfold and keeping an eye on those players whose performance warrants an inclusion to the list.'

On May 20, USA Baseball officials will cut the watch list of players to 50 names. The final list of 50 will then be sent to a voting body consisting of select professional baseball personnel, past USA Baseball National Team coaches, select members of the media,former USA Baseball sports information directors, and current USA Baseball staff - close to 150 voters in total.

Additionally, for the first time ever, fan voting will be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2008. May 20 will also mark the day when college baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite player for the Golden Spikes Award on As part of this May selection process all voters will be asked to choose five players from the list of 50 names. On June 3, USA Baseball will announce the five finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.

The 2008 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award will be presented nationally July 16 on an award show via live telecast from New York at MLB Advanced Media studios.

Past winners of the Golden Spikes Award include Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Robin Ventura (1988), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004), and David Price (2007).

2008 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Important Dates
• February 15 - 2008 pre-season watch list released
• May 20 - 50 semi-finalists announced
• June 3 - Five (5) finalists announced
• July 16 - 2008 winner announced

2008 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Watch List (Pac-10 Only)
Preston Guilmet, Arizona
Ike Davis, Arizona State
Petey Paramore, Arizona State
Brett Wallace, Arizona State
David Cooper, California
Tyson Ross, California
Jorge Reyes, Oregon State
Mike Stutes, Oregon State
Sean Ratliff, Stanford
Brandon Crawford, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network