Lovemark On 2008 Hogan 'Watch List'

Feb. 21, 2008

For the second year in a row, USC sophomore Jamie Lovemark has been selected to the watch list for the 2008 The Ben Hogan Award, the Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced on Wednesday.

The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months. Lovemark was a semifinalist as a freshman in 2007.

Returning PING First-Team All-America selections Lovemark, Billy Horschel of Florida and Kyle Stanley of Clemson, British Amateur champion Drew Weaver of Virginia Tech and Walker Cup participants Rickie Fowler of Oklahoma State and Wake Forest's Webb Simpson highlight the list.

Others on the 24-player watch list include Florida State's Jonas Blixt, Ryan Brehm of Michigan State, UCLA's Kevin Chappell and Lucas Lee, Jonas Enander Hedin and Stefan Wiedergruen of Charlotte, Georgia's Harris English and Brian Harman, Derek Fathauer of Louisville, Stanford's Rob Grube, Chesson Hadley and Cameron Tringale of Georgia Tech, UNLV's Seung-su Han, Mark Harrell and Michael Thompson of Alabama, Minnesota's Clayton Rask, Joel Sjoholm of Georgia State and Sonoma State's Jarin Todd.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 16. Three finalists named on May 7 will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 18. The 1964 U.S. Open winner and former CBS golf analyst Ken Venturi will be the keynote speaker.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder