Pacific-10 Conference Men's and Women's Diving Championships

Feb. 21, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader


WHAT: Pacific-10 Conference Men's and Women's Diving Championships.

WHERE: Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatics Center, Federal Way, Wash.

WHEN: Thursday Feb. 28 - Saturday, Mar. 1

WHO: Teams from ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, STANFORD and USC will compete for the 2008 Pac-10 Men's Diving Championship and teams from ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, STANFORD, UCLA and USC will compete for the 2008 Pac-10 Women's Diving Championship.

TICKETS: Admission to the 2008 Pacific-10 Conference Diving Championship is free.

MEDIA CONTACT: The Stanford sports information office will handle publicity for the 2008 Diving Championships. Kyle McRae and Ricky Brackett, Stanford's swimming and diving contacts, can be reached at (650) 723-4418.

MEET RESULTS: At the conclusion of the event, results will posted on the Pac-10 web site ( , as well as on Stanford's web site ( Please contact Stephanie Montano at the Pacific-10 Conference office for more information.


Last year in men's diving, Arizona State's Micky Benedetti, the Pac-10 Diver of the Year and Diving Newcomer of the Year, took home the title in both 3-meter and platform competitions at the Pac-10 Championships in Federal Way, Wash. The two-time Pac-10 Diver of the Month went on to win the title at the NCAA Zone-E Championship, where he also finished second in the 1-meter and third in the 3-meter, before finishing runner-up with a 412.10 on the platform at the NCAA Championships.

In his 10th year at Arizona State, Mark Bradshaw helped the Sun Devil swimming and diving team to a fifth place finish at the Pac-10 Championships and a 22nd place finish at the NCAA Championships. Bradshaw, who has earned two NCAA Diving Coach of the Year awards, has been named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year the past five seasons.

On the women's side, Stanford senior Cassidy Krug took Diver of the Year honors. Krug rounded out her collegiate career by sweeping the 1-meter and 3-meter titles at the 2007 NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championships after doing the same at the NCAA Zone E Meet and the Pac-10 Championships. Her sweep of the two events in each of the three competitions accounted for her unbeaten run during the 2007 postseason. Krug's outstanding season left a mark on the Stanford record books as she became the first Cardinal diver to ever win an NCAA 1-meter title and the first since Erin Sones captured the platform in 2001 to capture any NCAA diving event. In addition, she is only the second Stanford women's diver to win NCAA Diver of the Year honors and capture more than one NCAA title in her career and is the first to be named a nominee for the 2006-07 Swimming and Diving Honda Sports Award. Krug completed her collegiate career with seven All-American honors, while becoming just the second women's diver in Stanford history to win at least one All-American honor in each of her four seasons.

California freshman Samantha Young was named diving Newcomer of the Year. Young took fifth place on the 1-meter springboard and sixth place on the platform at the 2007 Pac-10 Diving Championships, which was the first time in several years a Bear had finished in the top 10 in any event at the Conference meet. Her performance qualified her for the NCAA Zone E Regionals where she finished sixth in the platform, 14th in the 1-meter and 19th in the 3-meter final. Before the Pac-10 Championships, Young led the Golden Bears on both the 1-meter and 3-meter springboards and on the platform.

Pac-10 Diving Coach of the Year was awarded to Rick Schavone of Stanford. In 29 years, Schavone has led the Cardinal to a combined 35 men's and women's Pac-10 diving titles. During that time he has coached his men's and women's divers to a combined 10 NCAA titles and 79 All-American honors. With Krug being the latest addition, Schavone has had at least one All-American on the women's side for 13 straight seasons and 25 of his last 26. The Women's Diving Coach of the Year award is Schavone's fifth time receiving the honor and he also garnered the Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year during the 1994-95 campaign. The Cardinal finished the year with a fourth place finish at the NCAA Championships while taking second in the Conference.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder