Senior Rob Grube Included On The Watch List For The Ben Hogan Award

Feb. 22, 2008

NORMAN, Okla. - Senior golfer Rob Grube was recently named to the 2008 Ben Hogan Award Watch List by Chesepeake Energy in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Grube, a native of Hinsdale, Ill. and a three-time All-American, has had an outstanding career so far at Stanford. As a freshman, he was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, and a year later was named Pac-10 Co-Golfer of the Year. He has thrice been named to the Pac-10 First Team All-Conference Honor Roll, and twice made the Pac-10 All-Academic Honor Roll. On top of his three All-American nods, he also was named an Academic All-American in 2007.

He currently holds the third best low stroke average in Cardinal history with 71.1 in 2007. He is tied for fourth in the history of the program in low individual rounds, as he shot a 64 in both the 2007 UH Hilo Invitational and the 2007 NCAA Championships.

He has made the trip to the NCAA Championships every year, where he tied for fifth as a freshman, and last year took third overall as he helped the Cardinal to their eighth national championship title.

He has twice won the U.S. Intercollegiate, and captured the 2006 CordeValle Classic, 2006 Western Intercollegiate, 2005 NCAA West Region Championship, and the 2006 Illinois State Amateur Championship.

So far in his senior season, he has posted three top-10 finishes and two top-25 finishes in six tournaments this year. His highest finish was earned at the 2008 UH-Hilo Invitational, where he tied teammate Sihwan Kim for second place, finishing 11-under-par and shooting 199.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 16. Three finalists named on May 7 will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 18. The 1964 U.S. Open winner and former CBS golf analyst Ken Venturi will be the keynote speaker.

Chesapeake (NYSE: CHK) is the largest independent producer of clean-burning natural gas in the United States and is the most active driller in Texas. The company was recently recognized as the 'Best Managed Energy Company' by Forbes and one of the 'Top 100 Places to Work' by Fortune.

A limited number of corporate tables and individual tickets are available for the Hogan Banquet. For more information, contact Colonial at (817) 840-2219.

2008 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List
(in alphabetical order)

Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Ryan Brehm, Michigan State
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Jonas Enander Hedin, Charlotte
Harris English, Georgia
Derek Fathauer, Louisville
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Rob Grube, Stanford
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Seung-su Han, UNLV
Brian Harman, Georgia
Mark Harrell, Alabama
Billy Horschel, Florida
Lucas Lee, UCLA
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Clayton Rask, Minnesota
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Kyle Stanley, Clemson
Michael Thompson, Alabama
Jarin Todd, Sonoma State
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Drew Weaver, Virginia Tech
Stefan Wiedergruen, Charlotte

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder