Oregon Set to Host 2008 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships

Feb. 25, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The 49th Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling Championships will be held at historic McArthur Court on the campus of the University of Oregon this Sun., March 2 and Mon., March 3. Individual Conference titles in 10 weight classes as well as the overall team title will be up for grabs during the two-day tournament. The Championships are divided into four sessions, culminating with the championship finals matches Monday evening. First-round action begins at at 11 a.m. PT on Sunday morning. Championship finals begin at 7 p.m. PT Sunday night. OREGON STATE is the defending Pac-10 Champion.


Sunday, March 2, 2008 - Sessions 1 & 211:00am - 12:30pm Pig Tail Matches

12:30pm - 3:00pm Championship Round 1

3:00pm - 4:00pm Consolation Pig Tails

4:00pm - 6:00pm Break

6:00pm - 9:00pm Semi-Finals, Consolation Round 1

Monday, March 3, 2008 - Session 33:00pm - 4:30pm Consolation Semi-Finals

4:30pm - 6:00pm Placement Matches

6:00pm - 7:00pm Break

7:00pm - 9:00pm Championship Finals & 3rd-4th Place Matches

There will be 10 institutions competing for the Conference Championship: Arizona State, BOISE STATE, UC DAVIS, CAL POLY, CAL STATE BAKERSFIELD, CAL STATE FULLERTON, OREGON, OREGON STATE, PORTLAND STATE and STANFORD.

All-Session passes to the 2008 Wrestling Pac-10 Tournament are now available through the Oregon Athletic Ticket Office. All-session passes are currently available for purchase and may either be mailed or picked up at the McArthur Court will call window. For any questions regarding Pac-10 Tournament tickets, please call the Oregon Athletic Ticket office at 1.800.WEBFOOT.
Type PriceAll Session - Reserved $40.00All Session - Adult General Admission $30.00All Session - Child/Senior/Student GA $20.00*Single Session (1 or 2) - Adult GA $10.00Single Session (1 or 2) - Child/Senior/Student GA $7.00*Single Session (3) - Adult GA $13.00Single Session (3) - Child/Senior/Student GA $10.00*Child ages = 2-18, Seniors = 62+,Student = Must have valid student ID

In addition to the 10 Conference individual titles at stake this weekend, a total of 39 Pac-10 wrestlers will earn trips to the 2008 NCAA Division I Championships being held at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Mo. from March 20-22. The top three wrestlers in each weight class earn automatic berths, then nine wildcards are chosen to round out the Pac-10 contingent.

Oregon State won its first Pac-10 Championship in 13 years in 2007 with Arizona State winning the two prior Championships. The Beavers reclaimed the all-time lead with their 14th title. Since the new millennium, only Arizona State (2001, `03, `05, `06) and Boise State (2000, `02, `04) have claimed victory. The Broncos and Oregon Ducks are tied for the third-most Conference championships with three apiece. Cal State Fullerton has never won the Tournament, but enters as the only nationally ranked Pac-10 team (No. 24) and a 13-5 dual record.

The Pac-10 Championships have made their way to Eugene four times, most recently in 2001. Arizona State took home the team title during that Championships, besting second-place Boise State 123.50-110.50. The Ducks finished fourth in that tournament, as they have in every Pac-10 Tournament they have hosted.

Requests for credentials should be made through Geoff Thurner at the University of Oregon. Media interested in obtaining credentials can do so by sending an e-mail request to gthurner@uoregon.edu. Media will be notified of their accreditation status prior to the tournament. No credentials will be mailed. They will be distributed at Will Call at McArthur Court beginning at 10 a.m. on Sunday, Feb. 24.

A set of results will be available to each head coach following the conclusion of each session and at the conclusion of the Championship. Results will be posted daily on Oregon's webiste at www.goducks.com and on the Pac-10 Web site at www.pac-10.org.

In continuing its growing partnership with CSTV, the Pac-10 will broadcast the 2008 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships live online at http://www.pac-10.org. The event will be broadcast for free through CSTV's All Access promotion. Those wishing to watch the event will have to create a log in and password upon entry, but there will be no charge to view the event.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network