Caitlin Andrew Breaks Fourth Record at Pac-10 Championships

March 1, 2008

The Women's Swimming Pac-10 Championships concluded with the Sun Devils placing sixth overall with a total of 727.5 points. At the conclusion of the meet, the Sun Devils had five new school records and eight NCAA automatic qualifying times.

Caitlin Andrew broke her fourth record of the week as she placed third overall in the 100 free at the women's Pac-10 Championships. She set ASU's new standard at 48.32, bettering her previous time by .18. Her time was under the NCAA 'A' cut.

Jen Beckberger won the 'A' consolation of the 100 free. The junior touched in at 49.26, just .01 off her personal best. Her time is also an NCAA automatic qualifying time. Lindsey Brown won the 'B' consolation. She clocked in a personal best 50.01 to put her at sixth on ASU's all-time list. Jess Perazzo earned an NCAA 'B' cut of 50.75.

Ashton Aubry clocked in an NCAA consideration time of 1:59.43 in the championship round of the 200 fly. Jamie Martinez also competed in the 200 fly, finishing fourth in the 'A' consolation final. Her time was under the NCAA 'B' cut.

Shannon Garrett placed 11th overall in the 1,650 free. With her NCAA consideration time of 16:38.29, Garrett is now 10th all-time at ASU. Christine Mauro also swam under the NCAA 'B' cut, touching in at 16:48.75.

Rikka Brunner improved her best 200 back time. The senior put her name at 10th all-time at ASU earlier in the day and now cut the tenth best time to 2:00.65. Her time is also an NCAA consideration time. In the 200 breast, Lindsey Russenberger competed in the 'B' consolation final, finishing in 2:18.68.

The Pac-10 Championships ended with the 400 free relay. With an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 3:16.89, the team of Andrew, Beckberger, Brown and Perazzo placed fourth overall.

The Sun Devils that qualified will compete at the NCAA Championships March 20-22. The women's NCAA Championships will take place in Columbus, Ohio. Next week the men's team travels to Long Beach, Calif., to compete in their Pac-10 Championships. The championships start March 4 and will conclude on March 8th.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network