Wiggins, Pedersen, and VanDerveer Claim Pac-10 Regular-Season Honors

March 6, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

STANFORD, Calif. - The Pac-10 Conference announced its 2007-08 season honors Thursday, and it was no surprise that the eight-time regular-season champion Stanford Cardinal came away with the biggest haul. Senior guard Candice Wiggins became the first player in conference history to earn her third Player of the Year honor, forward Kayla Pedersen captured the Freshman of the Year award, and Head Coach Tara VanDerveer was voted Coach of the Year. Additionally, Stanford players earned 11 nods on the various All-Pac-10 teams.

Wiggins and sophomore center Jayne Appel were voted to the All-Pac-10 First Team, while Pedersen was voted a third-team selection. Junior forward Jillian Harmon and sophomore guard JJ Hones earned honorable mention nods.

Pedersen continued her collection of honors with a spot on the Pac-10 All-Freshman Team, as fellow frosh Jeanette Pohlen was named to the honorable mention list.

Four Cardinal players, Appel, redshirt sophomore guard Rosalyn Gold-Onwude, Harmon, and Wiggins, were named All-Pac-10 Defensive Team honorable mention to round out the awards.

Wiggins, in her final season on The Farm, started her record-breaking senior year by being named to the preseason All-Conference team, Wiggins entered her senior season with All-America accolades from Kodak, the Wooden Award, AP, ESPN, and Sports Illustrated. Over the course of the season, she also garnered four Pac-10 Player of the Week honors as well as WBCA Player of the Month honors in December.

She embarked on a record-breaking crusade in 2007-08, passing not only Kate Starbird as Stanford's all-time leading scorer, but reaching the summit of the Pac-10 career scoring annals, surpassing Lisa Leslie's 13-year-old record of 2,414 points on March 2 at Washington State.

In addition to the scoring record, Wiggins also holds the Stanford marks for career three-pointers made (285) and attempted (689), scoring average (18.9 ppg), and free throws made (512).

On the year, Wiggins has turned in 14 20-point and two 30-point contests. She currently sits 14th in the nation with a 19.4 points per game average, and leads the Pac-10 in scoring, ranks second in steals (2.03), 10th in assists (3.00) and third in three-point field goals made (2.07). Among active career leaders, she also paces the Conference in assists (406) and steals.

Pedersen becomes the third Cardinal in four years and seventh all-time to nab Pac-10 Freshman of the Year accolades. The Fountain Hills, Ariz., native made an immediate impact this season, posting a double-double of 15 points and 16 rebounds in Stanford's 60-58 victory at then-No. 3/3 Rutgers on Nov. 11. She finished the regular season third in the conference in rebounding (8.2 rpg), sixth in field goal percentage (.497), and ninth in free-throw percentage (.726) and scoring (12.6 ppg). Pedersen notched five double-doubles and scored in double figures in 19 games.

Appel, last year's Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, anchored the Cardinal in the paint this season, averaging 8.6 rebounds and 14.4 points per game. The Pleasant Hill, Calif. native also did some record-breaking of her own, eclipsing her own single-season blocks record at Stanford as she has already tallied 67 swats this year. Appel was selected Pac-10 Player of the Week twice this season and has posted eight double-doubles.

A tenacious hustle player, Harmon averaged 7.2 points and 5.8 rebounds in 24 games before suffering a foot injury on Feb. 7 that has caused her to miss the past six games. Pre-injury, Harmon was fourth on the team averaging 24.7 minutes a game, and posted a double-double this season.

Returning this year from injuries of their own that curtailed their seasons in 2006-07, guards Rosalyn Gold-Onwude and JJ Hones triumphantly displayed the form that earned them honorable mention nods. Gold-Onwude, after missing all of 2006-07 with a torn ACL, was a defensive force on the Cardinal backcourt, tasked with defending the opposition's top guards. Her defensive efforts led to 24 steals on the year, while she also added 5.1 points a game.

Hones, whose freshman season was abruptly ended by a torn ACL last February, stepped in to run the offense and did not disappoint. She not only distributed 77 assists and boasted a 2.85 assist-to-turnover ratio in the regular season, but displayed the hot hand by shooting 41.5% (39-for-94) and scoring 6.2 points per game.

Pohlen, a freshman guard, was the only other rookie, along with Pedersen, to see action in all 30 games this season. As a valuable role player during the regular season, she came off the bench to average 5.0 points and 2.8 rebounds per game, in addition to 2.20 assists a game while averaging 20.5 minutes.

VanDerveer, meanwhile, collected her ninth Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor following a milestone year. Against Washington State at Maples Pavilion on Dec. 28, VanDerveer collected her 700th career win, becoming just the seventh Division I head coach to reach that total. She led the Cardinal to its eighth consecutive Pac-10 regular-season title, and its 17th overall. VanDerveer currently boasts a career record of 716-187 (.793) and a record of 564-136 at Stanford.

Arizona State's Briann January rounded out the conference awards by being named Defensive Player of the Year.

2007-08 Pac-10 Season Awards
Player of the Year - Candice Wiggins, Stanford, G, Sr.
Freshman of the Year - Kayla Pedersen, Stanford, F
Defensive Player of the Year - Briann January, Arizona State, G, Jr.
Coach of the Year - Tara VanDerveer, Stanford

Jayne Appel, Stanford, F/C, So.
Devanei Hampton, California, F/C, Jr.
Lindsey Pluimer, UCLA, F, Sr.
Ashley Walker, California, F/C, Jr.
Candice Wiggins, Stanford, G, Sr.

Alexis Gray-Lawson, California, G, Jr.
Briann January, Arizona State, G, Jr.
Lauren Lacey, Arizona State, F/C, Jr.
Nadia Parker, USC, C, Jr.
Ashley Whisonant, Arizona, G, Sr.

Emily Florence, Washington, G, Sr.
Mercedes Fox-Griffin, Oregon State, G, Jr.
Camille LeNoir, USC, G, Jr.
Taylor Lilley, Oregon, G, So.
Kayla Pedersen, Stanford, F, Fr.

*HONORABLE MENTION: Ashley Allen (OSU, Sr., G); Katie Appleton (WSU, Jr., G); Doreena Campbell (UCLA, Fr., G); Kaela Chapdelaine (ORE, Sr., G); Jillian Harmon (STAN, Jr., F); JJ Hones (STAN, So., G); Amina Njonkou (ARIZ, Jr., F); Jill Noe (ASU, Grad, G); Heather Oliver (USC, So., G); Natasha Vital (CAL, So., G).

Doreena Campbell, UCLA, G
Ify Ibekwe, Arizona, F
Kayla Pedersen, Stanford, F
Katelan Redmon, Washington, G/F
Talisa Rhea, Oregon State, G

*HONORABLE MENTION: Kelsey Adrian (CAL, G/F); Nicole Canepa (ORE, F); Tasha Dickey (ARIZ, G); Nina Earl (UCLA, F); Kezia Kelly (WSU, G); Kari LaPlante (USC, F); Darxia Morris (UCLA, G); Jeanette Pohlen (STAN, G); Regina Rogers (UCLA, F/C).

Emily Florence, Washington, G, Sr.
Tierra Henderson, UCLA, G, Jr.
Briann January, Arizona State, G, Jr.
Simone Jelks, USC, F, Sr.
Ashley Walker, California, F/C, Jr.

*HONORABLE MENTION: Jayne Appel (STAN, So., F/C); Kaela Chapdelaine (ORE, Sr., G); Sybil Dosty (ASU, Jr., C); Nina Earl (UCLA, Fr., F); Mercedes Fox-Griffin (OSU, Jr., G); Rosalyn Gold-Onwude (STAN, So., G); Jillian Harmon (STAN, Jr., F); Allison Jaskowiak (USC, Sr., G/F); Darxia Morris (UCLA, Fr., G); Heather Oliver (USC, So., G); Reagan Pariseau (ASU, Sr., G); Natasha Vital (CAL, So., G); Ashley Whisonant (ARIZ, Sr., G); Sami Whitcomb (WASH, So., G); Candice Wiggins (STAN, Sr., G).

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network