Sun Devils Remain in Fourth at Pac-10 Championships

March 7, 2008

The third day of the Pac-10 Men's Swimming Championships concluded with several Sun Devils earning personal bests and NCAA consideration times. Six NCAA consideration times were earned as the Sun Devils hung on to their fourth place position with 258.5 points.

C.J. Nuess placed second in the championship final of the 400 IM. The senior All-American, who had earlier in the season set a new record in the event, clocked in a time of 3:48.38 to move him up five spots from the preliminary trials. His time is under the NCAA consideration time. Alex Hier and Magnus Kjellberg both competed in the 'B' consolation for the 100 fly. Hier clocked in a personal best of 49.64 while Kjellberg came in at 49.76.

In the 100 fly, John Dwelley placed second in the 'A' consolation. He earned an NCAA 'B' cut with a time of 48.16. His time in the preliminaries of 47.86 improves his sixth position on ASU's all-time list. Sean Boyle also earned an NCAA consideration time in the 100 fly with a time of 48.48

Vinicius Waked placed second in the 'A' final of the 200 free with an NCAA 'B' cut of 1:36.81. Waked had clocked in a personal best earlier in the day with a time of 1:36.81. Adrian Kirkpatrick placed second in the 'B' final with a personal-best time of 1:38.40. Nolan Ruane and Marin Naranca also competed in the 'B' final for the Sun Devils.

Eddy Salcido competed in the 'A' final of the 100 breast finishing in a career-best 55.38. Fellow freshman Collin Gladys, clocked in ASU's ninth best all-time as he won the 'B' final with an NCAA consideration time of 55.16. Max Laney competed in the 100 back 'A' final, touching in at 49.96.

The Sun Devil relay team of Ante Cvitkovic, Collin Gladys, John Dwelley and Steve Neuwert clocked in ASU's second best 400 medley time of program history. With a time of 3:14.07, the team earned an NCAA consideration time and fourth place finish. Cvitkovic's leadoff time of 48.74 is also an NCAA consideration time.

The Sun Devils will conclude the championships tomorrow.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network