Stanford Wins Pac-10 Championship

March 8, 2008

Full Results Get Acrobat Reader

For the 27th consecutive year, Stanford is Pac-10 Champions in men's swimming. The Cardinal completed the fourth day of the Pac-10 Championships from Belmont Plaza Olympic Pool in Long Beach, Calif. with great success. Several Stanford swimmers earned national `A' standard on their way to the championship performance.

Stanford's total of 865 points was enough to defeat California who was second with 769 points and Arizona who was third with 748.5 points.

Stanford has just three seniors this season, making this championship one of the most impressive during the streak, especially considering the talent at Cal and Arizona.

Stanford got off to a good start in the night's fist event, the 1,650 meter freestyle. David Mosko finished second with an `A' standard time of 15:03.11. Also placing for Stanford was Josh Charnin-Aker who was sixth with a `B' standard time of 15:27.80. C.J. Nuess of Arizona State won the event with a time of 14:55.84.

In the 200 yard backstroke Eugene Godsoe placed fourth with an `A' standard time of 1:43.60. Godsoe was even faster in the prelims when he swam time of 1:42.40. The event was won by David Russell of Cal who finished with a time of 1:42.01.

The 100 yard freestyle was won by William Copeland of Cal with a time of 42.47 seconds. Stanford's Jason Dunford was third with a national `A' standard of 42.79 seconds. Austin Staab also achieved an `A' standard of 43.11 seconds to finish sixth.

Stanford again showed its depth in the breaststroke by placing five in the top eight. Paul Kornfeld won the event with a time of 1:54.49, an `A' standard. After the meet, Kornfeld was named athlete of the meet after his wins in the 100 and the 200 breaststroke. John Criste finished second by also achieving an `A' standard time of 1:56.22. Also achieving `A' standards were Chris Ash who finished fourth with a time of 1:56.62 and Paul Zaich who finished sixth with a time of 1:57.06. Finishing seventh with a `B' standard time of 1:57.11 was Nate Cass.

The 200 yard freestyle was won by Daniel Beal with a national `A' standard time of 1:44.68. Stanford again showed their depth in this event by placing four in the top eight. David Mosko placed third with a `B' standard time of 1:46.48. Rounding out the scoring for Stanford were Phillip Morrison in seventh with a time of 1:46.83 and Patrick Simpkins who finished eight with a time of 1:47.32.

In the final event of the meet, Stanford placed third in the 400 yard freestyle relay. Arizona won the relay with a time of 2:50.73. The Cardinal team of Jason Dunford, Staab, David Dunford, and Dan Priestley achieved an `A' standard time of 2:52.23

The 27 consecutive Pac-10 titles are a conference record in any sport. Head coach, Skip Kenney has led the Cardinal to all 27 of those titles.

Stanford will now look to continue their success at the NCAA Championships from March 27-29 in Federal Way, Wash. The Cardinal were the national runners-up last season and have not won a national title since 1997-98 despite finishing no worse than fourth during that stretch.

1 Stanford University STAN 865
2 Univ of California Berkeley CAL 769
3 University of Arizona ARIZ 748.5
4 Arizona State University ASU 371
5 University of Southern Calif USC 328
6 University of Washington WASH 246.5

Stanford `A' Standards: David Ash (200 breast), Daniel Beal (200 free, 200 fly, 500 free), Nathan Cass (200 IM), John Criste (200 breast), Jason Dunford (50 free, 100 free, 100 fly), Eugene Godsoe (100 back, 200 back), Paul Kornfeld (100 breast, 200 breast), David Mosko (500 free), Austin Staab (50 free, 100 free, 100 fly), Paul Zaich (200 breast), 200 free relay, 200 medley relay, 400 free relay, 400 medley relay, 800 free relay.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder