Bltyh Sets School Record in 200 Fly at Pac-10 Championships

March 9, 2008

Complete Results

LONG BEACH, Calif. - Andre Blyth set a new University of Washington swimming record in the 200 butterfly on his way to a second place finish in the event on the final day of the Pac-10 Men's Championships at the Belmont Olympic Plaza Pool.

Blyth's second place showing was the highest finish during the four days at the Pac-10 Championships for Washington, while teammate Erez Fern came in fourth in the event, which was the second-highest finish for a UW swimmer. Blyth swam a 1:46.01 to break the school record by more than a second, while Fern swam a 1:46.67 in the finals and a 1:46.07 in the preliminaries, the latter time ranking No. 2 all-time at the UW.

Senior captain Bret Lundgaard closed out his UW career with a 14th-place finish in the 200 fly, swimming a 1:48.69, which ranks No. 10 in the Husky record books.

In the 200 backstroke, Henry Hudson set a new UW record with a time of 1:46.75 in the prelims, as he went on to place 12th in the event (1:46.98). Taylor Brugh (1:47.24) and Jon Banker (1:48.56) came in 15th and 16th, respectively, while Tamon Page placed 18th (1:51.87). Brugh's time is the third-best in UW history, while Banker's time of 1:47.21 in the prelims is the second-best.

Yonatan Cohen and Russ Mahan came in 17th and 23rd, respectively, in the 200 breaststroke, with Cohen swimming a 1:59.54 and Mahan swimming a 2:07.60. Cohen's time if the fourth-fastest in school history.

The 400 freestyle relay team of Evan Bernier, Ivan Perhat, Ben Aaberg and Brenton Dowdy placed fifth in a school-record time of 2:57.31. That mark broke the old school record of 2:58.14 set in 2005.

In the 1650 freestyle, Scott Spansail swam to a ninth-place finish in a time of 15:31.58, which ranks No. 10 at the UW, while Jereme Barnett-Woods placed 11th in a time of 15:39.87.

In the 100 freestyle, Aaberg led four Huskies that placed in the top 24, as he took 15th in a time of 45.44. Also, Perhat placed 19th (45.61), David Bai was 20th (45.64) and Anthony Falaniko placed 22nd (45.95).

The Huskies finished the meet in sixth place with 246.5, which betters their point total of 222 last year. Stanford won its 27th-straight Pac-10 title with 865 points.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder