Wiggins Named Finalist For Naismith Trophy

March 8, 2008

Naismith Trophy Finalists Release

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford's Candice Wiggins was named a finalist for the Naismith Trophy, as announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. The senior from San Diego, Calif. is one of four finalists for the prestigious honor, joining LSU's Sylvia Fowles, Oklahoma's Courtney Paris, and Tennessee's Candace Parker.

Wiggins, named Pac-10 Player of the Year for a record-breaking third time as well as a first-team All-America selection by Sports Illustrated, led the conference with 19.4 points a game through the end of the regular season. She also became Stanford and the Pac-10's all-time leading scorer over the course of the season, breaking Kate Starbird's school record of 2,215 points as well as Lisa Leslie's conference mark of 2,414 career points.

Naismith Trophy finalists were chosen through a vote by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's board of selectors and its national voting academy, which narrowed the mid-season list of 31 candidates down to these four. The academy is comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, and based its criteria on player performances during the 2007-08 basketball season.

'All of these players have had not only tremendous seasons, but spectacular careers as well,' said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president. 'Any one of them would be a deserving addition to the Naismith awards family.'

Again this year, AT&T will give fans an unprecedented voice in selecting the winner. Fan voting, through the power and ease of text messaging, will account for 25 percent of the selection process. Fans can text message 'VOTE' to '87654' to receive the final ballot and participate in the voting process. Voting for the Naismith Trophy Women's College Basketball Player of the Year will end on Saturday, April 5, 2008, at 11:59 p.m. EDT. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder