NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Field Announced

March 13, 2008

Seattle, Wash. -

Official Psych Sheet (March 12, 2008) | NCAA Qualifiers by School(March 12, 2008) Get Acrobat Reader

On Wednesday, the NCAA announced the 235 swimmers who will compete at the NCAA Division I Swimming and Diving Championships, March 27-29, at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center, Federal Way, Wash. The University of Washington and the Seattle Sports Commission are hosting the event. Please visit the official host site for complete details.

'This championship event is a real benefit to Federal Way,' said Federal Way Mayor Jack Dovey. 'Federal Way is poised and ready to welcome to our community the hundreds of athletes and thousands of spectators who will be coming to this exciting event.'

The top programs from around the country will be represented, including five-time defending champion Auburn and top-ranked Texas. Florida led the field with 17 qualifiers, followed by the Longhorns with 16 and the Tigers with 15. Stanford and Arizona both qualified 14 swimmers.

Although Washington will not have an entry in this year's field, there will be numerous local connections, including: Scott Rice (Wisconsin/Federal Way, Wash.); Ryan Verlatti (Texas/Tacoma, Wash.); Patrick Penoyar (Indiana/Olympia, Wash.); CJ Nuess (Arizona State/Spokane, Wash.); and Logan Storie (Florida/Corvallis, Ore.).

The diving field will be determined at the Zone Championships this weekend. The zone meets are held in five geographical regions. This year's five sites are Buffalo, N.Y., Auburn, Ala., Columbus, Ohio, Houston, Texas, and Oklahoma City, Okla. To qualify for the NCAA Championships, men must score at least 290 on the one-meter board and 310 on the three-meter board.

Single session tickets for the NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championships are now on sale through Ticketmaster. Each day of the Championships will consist of two sessions, with qualifying heats starting in the afternoon followed by finals in the evening. The best seats are still available with the purchase of a three-day pass. To purchase tickets visit Ticketmaster at: Ticketmaster or call 206-628-0888.

The Seattle Sports Commission (SSC) promotes, attracts and develops sports and recreational events to enhance economic prosperity in the Puget Sound region. The SSC's vision for Seattle is to be recognized as a featured sports destination and a premier host of national sporting events.

Zone Diving Championships:
Zone A:
University at Buffalo (March 14-16), Buffalo, New York
Zone B:
Auburn University (March 14-16), Auburn, Alabama
Zone C:
Ohio State University (March 14-16), Columbus, Ohio
Zone D:
University of Houston (March 14-16), Houston, Texas
Zone E:
U.S. Air Force Academy (March 13-15), Oklahoma City Community College, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network