Brockman Voted to USBWA All-District Team

March 15, 2008

St. Louis, Mo. - University of Washington junior Jon Brockman was named to the All-District IX men's basketball squad compiled by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA).

The USBWA all-district teams are based on voting from its national membership. There are nine regions from coast to coast and a player and coach of the year are selected in each.

The nine district players of the year include D.J. Augustin (Texas), Michael Beasley (Kansas State), Chris Douglas-Roberts (Memphis), J.R. Giddens (New Mexico), Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina), Luke Harangody (Notre Dame), Kevin Love (UCLA), A.J. Price (Connecticut) and Jason Thompson (Rider).

The USBWA selection is the second all-district honor for Brockman, who last week was named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) team. He was voted to the All-Pac-10 second team earlier this week.

Brockman currently tops the Pac-10 and ranks No. 3 nationally with an average of 11.6 rebounds per game. His team-leading 17.6-point scoring average ranks fifth among Pac-10 players.

The 6-foot-7 forward has 22 double-doubles, the highest figure for a Pac-10 player this season. He tallied double-figure points in every game he played this season, including 13 performances of 20 points or more.

Against Utah on Nov. 14, Brockman erupted for a career-high 31 points and 18 rebounds to propel the Huskies into the Preseason NIT semifinals in New York City.

Brockman made an assault on the Washington record book this season, placing his name among the school's all-time greats. His current total of 529 points ranks 15th on the UW single-season scoring list and his 1,260 career points are UW's 20th-highest figure.

He ranks No. 6 among all-time Husky single-season rebounders with 347. His 869 career rebounds are the eighth-highest total for a UW player.

Brockman was a preseason Wooden Award player of the year candidate for the second straight season and was named to the 30-player midseason list on Jan. 27. He was honored three times this season as the Pac-10 Player of the Week: on Nov. 19, Dec. 24 and Jan. 21.

A 2005 McDonald's All-American out of Snohomish (Wash.) High School, Brockman was selected to the 2007 All-Pac-10 Team and was a Pac-10 All-Freshman team pick in 2006.

Honored alongside Brockman on the 10-man all-district squad were nine other Pac-10 players: Ryan Anderson (California), Jerryd Bayless (Arizona), Darren Collison (UCLA), James Harden (Arizona State), Maarty Leunen (Oregon), Brook Lopez (Stanford), Love (UCLA), O.J. Mayo (USC) and Kyle Weaver (Washington State).

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball.

Brockman did not play in Washington's last game, an 84-81 loss to California, Wednesday in the first round of the Pac-10 Tournament. He sprained his left ankle on Mar. 8 at Washington State during the final regular-season game.

The Huskies will find out Sunday if they are selected to participate in postseason play. They are eligible for the NIT or the inaugural College Basketball Invitational (CBI).

The first-round CBI contests are schedule for Tuesday and Wednesday and UW could be selected to host a game at Bank of America Arena.

(California, Oregon, Washington, Hawai'i, Arizona & Alaska)

Player of the Year
Kevin Love, UCLA

Coach of the Year
Herb Sendek, Arizona State

All-District IX Team
Ryan Anderson, California
Jerryd Bayless, Arizona
Jon Brockman, Washington
Darren Collison, UCLA
James Harden, Arizona State
Maarty Leunen, Oregon
Brook Lopez, Stanford
Kevin Love, UCLA
O.J. Mayo, USC
Kyle Weaver, Washington State

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder