UCLA Rowing Takes Three of Four Races Against San Diego State

March 15, 2008

MARINA DEL REY, Calif. - The UCLA women's rowing team defeated San Diego State in three of Saturday's four races at the dual meet at Ballona Creek. The varsity four claimed victory, as did both varsity eight boats.

San Diego State netted the first win of the morning, taking the novice eight race. The race was close throughout, but the Aztecs had a slim lead for most of the event before pulling away to a five-second victory. SDSU came in with a time of 6:49.80, with UCLA finishing at 6:55.00. The Aztecs' B boat recorded a mark of 7:04.83.

In the varsity four event, it turned into a match race between the UCLA A and B boats. The A team turned it on at the end and posted a three-second win with a time of 7:17.17. The Bruins' second squad had a mark of 7:20.66, while San Diego State finished third at 7:55.39.

The Bruins dominated the second varsity eight race, defeating San Diego State by more than 27 seconds, 6:25.50 to 6:52.95.

In the final event, UCLA claimed the varsity eight race by more than 23 seconds. The Bruins got off to a great start off the line and maintained the lead throughout, coming in at a time of 6:18.30 to San Diego State's 6:41.97.

Conditions for the regatta were calm with a slight outgoing tide.

Below were the probable racing teams for the Bruins. Saturday's regatta marked UCLA's final home event of the 2008 season. UCLA continues its spring schedule this month, competing at the Windermere Stanford the weekend of March 29-30.

Novice 8+
1. SDSU A 6:49.80
2. UCLA 6:55.00
3. SDSU B 7:04.83

Varsity 4+
1. UCLA A 7:17.17
2. UCLA B 7:20.66
3. SDSU 7:55.39

Second Varsity 8+
1. UCLA 6:25.50
2. SDSU 6:52.95

Varsity 8+
1. UCLA 6:18.30
2. SDSU 6:41.97

Varsity 8+: Vanessa Teff (stroke), Elise Wilson, Candace Ferguson, Patricia Dudziec, Lynn Hancock, Alexandra Howard, Destinie Slavich, Erin Haggerty (bow), Alaizah Koorji (coxswain)

Second Varsity 8+: Elizabeth Herron (stroke), Lauren Counter, Kristin Fitzmorris, Vanessa Jansen, Sheerin Salimi, Christina Sprouse, Alexandra Lauren, Rachel LaBella (bow), Gevvy Seferaj (coxswain)

Varsity 4+ 'A': Kaitlin Doering, Megan Lightfoot, Ashley Guzik, Christina King (bow), Brittany Liljeqvist (coxswain)

Varsity 4+ 'B': Danielle Piccinini, Carolyn Johnson, Antonia Hubbard, Jessica Cherry (bow), Megan Petitti (coxswain)

Novice 8+: Stephanie Duclett (stroke), Katrina Darracq, Ariana Moeser, Brittanee Marksbury, Megan Pratt, Shizue Reid, Sarah O'Leary, Molly Dallmar (bow), Jacqueline Ellis (coxswain)

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder