USTFCCCA Names Four Sun Devils to National Track & Field Honors

March 18, 2008

TEMPE, Ariz. - The United States Track and Field, Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) has announced its annual national indoor awards with five of the eight honors earned by members of the Arizona State University track and field program, the Association announced Tuesday. Sun Devil head coach Greg Kraft was selected as the USTFCCCA Women's National Coach of the Year as well as the USTFCCCA Men's National Coach of the Year after leading both teams to national championships over the weekend.

The three other awards included David Dumble being named the USTFCCCA Women's National Assistant Coach of the Year; Jacquelyn Johnson was named the USTFCCCA Women's National Field Athlete of the Year; and Ryan Whiting was named the USTFCCCA Men's National Field Athlete of the Year. The honor for Dumble, as well as the women's award for Kraft, mark the second year in a row both have earned the indoor honor while the indoor accolades for both student-athletes are their first indoors.

Kraft led his men's squad to their first overall men's indoor team title and first NCAA title since the 1977 outdoor season. The team scored 44 points en route to a come-from-behind victory. Kraft's team had two national champions, Whiting in the shot and Kyle Alcorn in the 3000-meters. The Sun Devil DMR squad finished second (9:32.49) as did Joel Phillip in the 400-meter dash (46.27) and the 4x400-meter relay team finished third. His women's team won a second straight indoor title and third consecutive team title after besting the NCAA field with 51 points. Coming into the meet the Sun Devil women were ranked second nationally. The NCAA title was the seventh post-season win in a row for the Sun Devils. In addition to Johnson's national championship, the Sun Devil women had three runner-up finishes (Sarah Stevens-Shot Put, April Kubishta-Pole Vault, and Jessica Pressley-Weight Throw) and one third place finish (Women's 4x400-meter Relay).

Dumble has built one of the top throws programs in the nation as his women accounted for 20 of the team's winning 51 point total as Sarah Stevens placed second in the shot put and Jessica Pressley was second in the weight throw and fifth in the shot put. Dumble also has worked with six-time national champion Jacquelyn Johnson, helping the senior to a collegiate record in the pentathlon this season.

Johnson, a senior from Yuma, Ariz., successfully defended her pentathlon crowns, winning for the third year in a row while setting a collegiate and meet record with 4,496 points. Johnson, a three-time heptathlon champion, contributed 14 points to the team's winning total, placing fifth in the long jump while also finishing tied for ninth in the high jump.

Whiting, a redshirt sophomore from Harrisburg, Pa., broke a 31 year-old collegiate record in the shot put, throwing 21.74m (71-03.50) to win his first national title and set the men's program up for its first national team crown. Whiting, whose mark ranks third in the world currently, broke the mark of 21.50m (70-06.50) of Terry Albritton (Stanford), which was set in 1977. Whiting also won the shot put at the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation meet.

The Sun Devils will open their outdoor season this weekend at home as they are set to play host to the Baldy Castillo Invitational on Friday and Saturday on Joe Selleh Track at Sun Angel Stadium.

2008 USTFCCCA Division I National Indoor Awards
Men's Awards:
Track Athlete of the Year - Leonel Manzano (Texas)
Field Athlete of the Year - Ryan Whiting (Arizona State)
Assistant Coach of the Year - Jason Vigilante (Texas)
Head Coach of the Year - Greg Kraft (Arizona State)

Women's Awards:
Track Athlete of the Year - Sally Kipyego (Texas Tech)
Field Athlete of the Year - Jacquelyn Johnson (Arizona State)
Assistant Coach of the Year - David Dumble (Arizona State)
Head Coach of the Year - Greg Kraft (Arizona State)

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network