Trojans Hold 2008 Awards Banquet

March 24, 2008

LOS ANGELES - The USC men's basketball team which went 21-12 and made the NCAA Tournament for the second consecutive season, held its annual awards banquet tonight (March 24) in the Founders Club at the Galen Center.

The Trojans posted back-to-back 20-win seasons for the first time since the 2001-02 seasons and their 63 wins over the last three seasons is the most in a three-year period in school history. USC was a No. 6 seed in the Midwest Regional in the 2008 NCAA Tournament and was defeated in the first round by Kansas State and Player of the Year candidate Michael Beasley, 80-67. The Trojans tied for third place in the conference with an 11-7 record.

Freshman O.J. Mayo was named the team MVP as he led USC with a 20.7 average and set the school freshman record for points in a season (684) and three-point baskets made (88). His point total ranks second all-time by a Trojan in a single season (Harold Miner -789 in 1992) and his three-point baskets made are third best all-time in a single season by a Trojan.

Sophomore Taj Gibson led USC with 259 rebounds and set the school single-season record for blocks with 84. His two-year total of 153 blocks already places him second on USC's all-time blocked shots list, trailing only Sam Clancy's four-year total of 195.

The following is a list of tonight's award winners:

Sam Barry Award MVP O.J. Mayo
(20.7 ppg, 4.5 rpg, 40.9 3-pt%, 684 points, 88 three-pointers)
Joe Barbato Award Top FT Percentage Daniel Hackett
(82.3 percent, 8.6 ppg, 3.8 rpg, 3.2 apg)
Dr. James Zumberge Award Top GPA Keith Wilkinson
(3.0, Communications, Journalism & Related Studies)
John Rudometkin Award 110% Effort Taj Gibson
(58.0 FG%, 10.8 ppg, 7.8 rpg, 88 blocks)
Tom Kimmel Award Top 6th Man Keith Wilkinson
(2.5 ppg, 2.8 rpg, 13.5 min/game)
Ernie Holbrook Award Most Inspirational Daniel Hackett
(8.6 ppg, 94 assists, 82.3 FT %, 34 steals)
Coaches Award Dwight Lewis
(10.8 ppg, 2.4 rpg, 31 3-pointers, 24 steals)
Top Rebounder Award Taj Gibson
(7.8 rpg, 259 total)
Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder