Candice Wiggins Named Finalist For State Farm Wade Trophy

March 26, 2008

State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford senior guard Candice Wiggins was named to the list of 12 finalists for the 2008 State Farm Wade Trophy, the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee, Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), and National Association for Women and Girls In Sport (NAGWS) announced Wednesday.

Wiggins, Stanford's and the Pac-10's all-time leading scorer with 2,535 career points through March 26, leads the conference with 19.8 points a game this season and led the Cardinal to its eighth consecutive Pac-10 regular-season title as well as its fifth Pac-10 Tournament crown in the last seven years.

Her stellar play has garnered her a slew of honors, as Wiggins was named Pac-10 Player of the Year for a record-breaking third time in her career, and has already been named to the All-America teams of, Sports Illustrated, and Wiggins was also named a finalist for the State Farm Coaches All-America Team by the WBCA earlier this week. She is also a finalist for the Naismith Trophy and the John Wooden Award.

'The State Farm Wade Trophy committee has compiled quite an impressive list of 12 finalists,' said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. 'These young women not only succeed on the hardwood, but also serve as positive role models in the community. Each one of the finalists is deserving of the State Farm Wade Trophy.'

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I State Farm Coaches' All-America Team and will be announced at the State Farm Coaches' All-America Team Press Conference and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention on Saturday, April 5, 2008, at 9:45 a.m. (ET).'State Farm would like to congratulate the finalists for the 2008 State Farm Wade Trophy and for their outstanding achievements throughout the year,' said Mark Gibson, assistant vice president advertising for State Farm. 'These athletes epitomize the true meaning of student-athlete and we are honored to recognize them for their accomplishments on and off the court.'

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 31st year is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as 'The Heisman of Women's Basketball', debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy winner was Tennessee's Candace Parker. The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003). Seimone Augustus (2005 and 2006) and Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) are the award's only two-time recipients.

The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June of 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past eight years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Award. A committee comprised of coaches, administration and media from across the United States selects the winner.

State Farm Wade Trophy Finalist
Candice Wiggins, Sr., G, Stanford
Matee Ajavon, Sr. G, Rutgers
Essence Carson, Sr. G, Rutgers
Tina Charles, So., C, Connecticut
Sylvia Fowles, Sr., C, LSU
Crystal Langhorne, Sr., C, Maryland
Erlana Larkins, Sr., F, North Carolina
Angel McCoughtry, Jr. F, Louisville
Renee Montgomery, Jr., G, Connecticut
Courtney Paris, Jr. C, Oklahoma
Candace Parker, Sr. G/F/C, Tennessee
Kristi Toliver, Jr. G, Maryland

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder