21 Stanford Men's Swimmers Recognized As All-Academic By The Pac-10

March 27, 2008

  • Full Pac-10 All-Academic Teams Get Acrobat Reader

    Stanford was well represented on the Pac-10 All-Academic with 21 student-athletes being recognized today as announced by Pac-10 commissioner Tom Hansen. Stanford's 21 representatives were easily the most in the Pac-10. The Cardinal had seven of the 16 representatives on the first-team with five on the second-team and nine receiving honorable mention.

    Egan Gans led the Stanford honorees being named to the first-team for the third straight year. Gans, a senior, has already earned his degree in mechanical engineering and is now pursuing a master's degree in mechanical engineering with a focus in Smart Products and Management Science and Engineering with a focus is Small Business. He has a combined GPA of 3.46.

    Earning his second All-Academic first-team honor was Jason Dunford who carries a 3.76 GPA in human biology. Scott Lathrope earned his first All-Academic first-team honor after being second team last year. Lathrope carries a 3.64 GPA in engineering.

    Being recognized as All-Academic on the first-team for the first time were David Dunford, BJ Johnson, Connor McColl, and Casey Weston.

    The second team included two seniors, Nathan Kim and Noa Sakamoto that were first-team members in 2006. They were joined by Dan Priestley who was second-team for the second consecutive year and first-time representatives, Brede Kolsrud and Andrew Woodruff.

    Stanford also had nine honorable mention honorees, including Phillip Morrison, Karl Boehringer, Chris Ash, Nate Cass, Eugene Godsoe, Sven Hinrichsen, Jesse Krompier, Andrew Trepp, and Paul Zaich.

    The Pac-10 Champions for a record 27th consecutive year also demonstrated their hard work in the classroom by leading the Pac-10 in honorees.

    1st Team
    Egan Gans (2006, '07, '08)
    Jason Dunford (2007, '08)
    Scott Lathrope (2008, 2007 2nd Team)
    David Dunford (2008)
    BJ Johnson (2008)
    Connor McColl (2008)
    Casey Weston (2008)

    2nd Team
    Noa Sakamoto (2006 1st Team, '08)
    Nathan Kim (2006 1st Team, '08)
    Brede Kolsrud (2008)
    Dan Priestley (2007, '08)
    Andrew Woodruff (2008)

    Honorable Mention
    Phillip Morrison (2006, '07 Second Team, '08)
    Karl Boehringer (2006 1st Team, '08)
    Chris Ash (2007 2nd Team, '08)
    Nate Cass (2007 2nd Team, '08)
    Eugene Godsoe (2008)
    Sven Hinrichsen (2008)
    Jesse Krompier (2008)
    Andrew Trepp (2008)
    Paul Zaich (2008)

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    4:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network