Arizona Extends Lead Over Texas at NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championships

March 28, 2008

Federal Way, Wash. - Arizona continued its quest for its first-ever men's swimming and diving NCAA Team Championship tonight, as the Wildcats extended their lead over Texas to 91 points in the team standings. Seven different universities crowned an NCAA Champion tonight at the second day of competition at the 2008 Men's Swimming and Diving Championships at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center.

Arizona, in first place in the team standings with 376 points, was the only school to win two events tonight, with wins in the 800 freestyle relay and the 100 fly. Albert Subirats captured his second title of the meet, taking the 100 butterfly championship tonight after helping the Arizona 400 medley relay team to a title last night. The Wildcats set a new NCAA meet record in the 800 free relay with a time of 6:12.85, edging the second-place Texas relay team, which holds the collegiate record in the event.

Texas is in second place in the team standings, with a total of 285 points after two full days of competition. The Longhorns' Dave Walters captured the 200 free to become UT's first NCAA Champion since 2006.

Stanford is in third place with 231 points (54 points behind Texas). The Cardinal captured an individual championship as Paul Kornfeld won the 100 yard breaststroke. Last year, Kornfeld finished in second place at the NCAA Championships in the 100 breaststroke.

Auburn, the five-time defending NCAA Champion, is in fifth place after two days of competition. The Tigers picked up one NCAA title tonight, as the 200 yard medley relay team won its second consecutive championship in the event. Last year, the same exact relay team won. This year, Scott Goodrich, David Maras, Alexei Puninski, Cesar Cielo broke the NCAA and US Open record with a time of 1:23.24. The quartet owned the previous record of 1:23.37 (set at last year's NCAA Championship).

Michigan, currently in sixth place, crowned Alex Vanderkaay as the 400 Yard Individual Medley NCAA Champion for the second year in a row. Seventh-place Indiana scored a win in the 100 yard backstroke, as Ben Hesen captured his first NCAA title. He is the first Hoosier to win a swimming championship since 1976, when Jim Montgomery won the 100 and 200 freestyle events.

Miami's Reuben Ross won the 3 meter diving title, the Hurricane's first NCAA Champion since 2002 when Imre Lengyel won the platform title.

The NCAA Championships will conclude tomorrow, Saturday, March 29. Preliminaries are set to begin at noon followed by the finals at 7 p.m. Day three of the NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships will include: 200-yard breaststroke, 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard breaststroke, 200-yard butterfly, 400-yard freestyle relay and platform diving.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network