2008 Pac-10 Softball Media Guide

March 31, 2008

Section 1: Schedule, Team Pages Get Acrobat Reader

Section 2: 2007 review, Records Get Acrobat Reader

Section 3: NCAA Tournament History, Pac-10 Conference Get Acrobat Reader

The Pacific-10 Conference upholds its reputation as the nation's elite softball league year after year. The Conference has now won 19 titles since the NCAA softball tournament began in 1982.

Last year proved to be another banner year for the Conference. All eight Pac-10 schools qualified for postseason play and three advanced to the Women's College World Series, the most of any conference. This continued presence on softball's biggest stage proves that the Pac-10 is indeed the 'Conference of Champions.'

While some schools have supported softball programs since the AIAW years, official Pac-10 play did not begin until 1987 with six schools participating. Stanford and Washington added programs and joined the league in 1993. Pac-10 schools have consistently been at the top of the polls and in the College World Series. UCLA and Arizona dominated the 1990's and have battled for the Conference and national title nearly every year.

Pacific-10 schools have produced 14 Honda Award winners and over 200 All-American selections. These standout players include Dot Richardson, Yvonne Guitierrez, Jenny Dalton, Gillian Boxx, Sara Pickering, Alison McCutcheon and Stacey Nuveman. Pitchers Jennie Finch, Lisa Fernandez, Michele Granger, Nancy Evans, Lisa Longaker and Susie Parra have written the record books as well. In addition, Leah Braatz of Arizona was named the NFCA Catcher of the Year in 1997 and 1998. Stacey Nuveman won the award in 1999, 2001, and 2002, and Washington All-American Kristen Rivera won the award in 2005.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder