Two Cougars to Take Part in Final Four Festivities

April 2, 2008

PULLMAN, Wash. - Washington State University men's basketball seniors Derrick Low and Robbie Cowgill will head to San Antonio to partake in two of the activities surrounding the 2008 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four. Low will show off his shooting skills in the 20th Annual State Farm 3-Point Championship Thursday, April 3, while Cowgill will represent the Cougars in the DiGiorno College All-Star Game Friday, April 4.

The 20th Annual State Farm 3-Point Championship will take place at St. Mary's University and be televised on ESPN at 6 p.m. PDT (8 p.m. local time). Low will be joined by seven of the nation's top collegiate shooters, including Shan Foster of Vanderbilt, Drew Neitzel of Michigan State, Chris Lofton of Tennessee, A.J. Graves of Butler, Jamar Butler of Ohio State, Brian Roberts of Dayton, and Jaycee Carroll of Utah State in the competition.

The event will also feature the leading women's basketball three-point shooters and the slam dunk competition, which will be judged by David Robinson, Emmitt Smith, Limas Sweed, and Kellen Winslow, Jr.

The DiGiorno College All-Star Game, sponsored by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), will be played at the Alamodome, on the Final Four floor for the first time in its long history. The game features two teams of the nation's finest college seniors and will tip-off at 3 p.m. PDT (5 p.m. local time) Friday. It will be televised on CSTV. Cowgill will represent the American All-Stars and will face off against the National Team.

Cowgill's American Team will be coached by former South Carolina coach Dave Odom and features players from all over the country, including, Mike Green of Butler, Brian Butch of Wisconsin, James Gist of Maryland and David Padgett of Louisville. Led by Clemson Coach Oliver Purnell, the National Team features Duke's DeMarucs Nelson, Vanderbilt's Shan Foster and Cliff Hammonds of Clemson.

WSU's season 3-point record holder, Low ranks fourth in the WSU career record books with 220 3-point field goals. This season he set a school record with 92 treys made, passing the old mark of 89 set in 1999. He also holds the seventh-best mark with 75 3-pointers in 2006-07. Low also ranks on WSU all-time list in minutes (second - 3,706), 3-point field goal attempts (second - 583), free throw percentage (sixth - .800), steals (eighth - 145), scoring (11th - 1,288 points), assists (12th - 256), field goal attempts (13th - 1,047), 3-point field goal percentage (14th - .377), steals average (14th - 1.294 per game) and field goals made (14th - 444). This season Low led the team in scoring with 14.1 points per game was named All-Pacific-10 Third Team and National Association of Basketball Coaches District 14 First Team.

A four-year starter for the Cougars, Cowgill compiled 929 points in his career and ranks on the WSU career list in blocks (tied for third - 118), blocks average (seventh - 0.96 per game) and rebounds (11th - 584). This season he was fifth on the team with 7.3 points per game and led the team with 29 blocked shots. He was named Pac-10 All-Defensive Honorable Mention and the league's men's basketball scholar athlete of the year.

2008 3-Point and Slam Dunk Participants
Drew Neitzel, Michigan State
Chris Lofton, Tennessee
AJ Graves, Butler
Shan Foster, Vanderbilt
Derrick Low, Washington State
Jamar Butler, Ohio State
Brian Roberts, Dayton
Jaycee Carroll, Utah State

Allie Quigley, DePaul
Chioma Nnamaka, Georgia Tech
Marscilla Packer, Ohio State
Joyce Ekworomadu, Texas State
Meg Bulger, West Virginia
Maurita Reid, Miami

Deron Washington, Va. Tech
James Gist, Maryland
JR Giddens, New Mexico
Patrick Ewing JR., Georgetown
Brian Randle, Illinois
Joey Dorsey, Memphis
Will Bullard, TAMU - CC
Sonny Weems, Arkansas

2008 Senior All-Star Rosters
AMERICAN TEAM (Red Uniforms)
3 Mike Green, Butler
13 Sundiata Gaines, Georgia
15 Jaycee Carroll, Utah State
21 Robert McKiver, Houston
23 Charles Rhodes, Mississippi State
25 Brian Butch, Wisconsin
33 James Gist, Maryland
35 Brian Randle, Illinois
42 Robbie Cowgill, Washington State
45 Alex Harris, UC-Santa Barbara
51 David Padgett, Louisville
Head Coach: Dave Odom, former South Carolina
Assistant Coaches: Rick Duckett, Barry Sanderson, Ken Potosnak, Sheldon Everett

NATIONAL TEAM (Blue Uniforms)
1 Jonathan Wallace, Georgetown
4 Marcelus Kemp, Nevada
12 Cliff Hammonds, Clemson
14 DeMarcus Nelson, Duke
20 Ramel Bradley, Kentucky
22 Shan Foster, Vanderbilt
24 Will Daniels, Rhode Island
32 Aleks Maric, Nebraska
34 Josh Duncan, Xavier
41 Joe Jones, Texas A&M
43 Jason Thompson, Rider
Head Coach: Oliver Purnell, Clemson
Assistant Coaches: Ron Bradley, Shaka Smart, Frank Smith, Josh Postorino, Mike Morrell

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network