UCLA Rowing to Race in San Diego Crew Classic This Weekend

April 2, 2008

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA women's rowing team competes in the San Diego Crew Classic on April 5-6 in Mission Bay, Calif. Last spring, the Bruins finished first in the freshman eight Grand Final and third in the second varsity eight and open eight Grand Final races at the San Diego Crew Classic.

After opening the season with dual meets on consecutive weekends against Loyola Marymount and San Diego State, the Bruins returned to the water last weekend at the 2008 Pac-10 Challenge. UCLA's varsity eight crew enters this week's competition ranked No. 18 in the nation.

San Diego Crew Classic (UCLA's races)

Saturday, April 5
9:00 a.m. - Varsity 8+ (versus Stanford, Wisconsin, Louisville)
10:20 a.m. - Second Varsity 8+ (versus Washington, Stanford, St. Joseph's, San Diego State, Loyola, Purdue)
11:00 a.m. - Novice 8+ (versus Sacrmento State, Washington, San Diego State, St. Joseph's, Clemson)
12:30 p.m. - Open 8+ (versus Stanford, St. Mary's, UC Santa Barbara, San Diego)

Sunday, April 6
9:00 a.m. - Varsity 8+ Grand Final (Jessop-Whittier Cup)
10:15 a.m. - Second Varsity 8+ Grand Final (Stitt-Hungness Trophy)
11:20 a.m. - Novice 8+ Grand Final (Laurel Korholz Perpetual Trophy)
11:40 a.m. - Open Eight Grand Final (Carley Copley Cup)

UCLA's Probable Racing Lineups

Varsity 8+: Patricia Dudziec (stroke), Vanessa Teff, Elise Wilson, Lynn Hancock, Alexandra Howard, Candace Ferguson, Erin Haggerty, Vanessa Jansen (bow), Alaizah Koorji (coxswain)

Second Varsity 8+: Elizabeth Herron (stroke), Lauren Counter, Kristin Fitzmorris, Destinie Slavich, Sheerin Salimi, Christina Sprouse, Alexandra Lauren, Rachel LaBella (bow), Gevrina Seferaj (coxswain)

Open 8+: Kaitlin Doering (stroke), Stephanie Duclett, Brittanee Marksbury, Megan Lightfoot, Ashley Guzik, Danielle Piccinini, Christina King, Carolyn Johnson (bow), Brittany Liljeqvist (coxswain)

Novice 8+: Katrina Darracq (stroke), Ariana Moeser, Antonia Hubbard, Megan Pratt, Shizue Reid, Jessica Schlosser, Molly Dallmar, Sarah O'Leary (bow), Jacqueline Ellis (coxswain)

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder