Three Cardinal Gymnasts Honored by the Pac-10

April 3, 2008

Three Stanford women's gymnasts were honored today, as the Pac-10 announced its All-Conference team, as announced by Commissioner Tom Hansen. Overall, Cardinal players garnered five awards, as Yim was able to garner three on her own.

The All-Conference first team consists of the top six all-around competitors, plus the top three competitors in each individual event who are not among the all-around honorees. Individuals may earn All-Conference honors in multiple individual events. Scores are determined by a combination of 50 percent regional qualifying score (entire regular season composite) and 50 percent Pacific-10 Conference Championship score. The All-Conference second team consists of 10 individuals, who were not honored on the first team.

Redshirt freshman Allyse Ishino was named to the First Team on the Uneven Parallel Bars after putting together an RQS score of 9.885. Her score was 18th nationally in her first season of NCAA competition.

Senior Lauren Elmore earned Second Team honors for floor exercise after earning an RQS score of 9.860. Her score was 47th nationally and this was the first all-conference award for Elmore in her career.

Senior Tabitha Yim added to her personal accolades with all-conference awards in balance beam and uneven bars. Yim now has three all-conference accolades in her career. Yim was also named 2008 Pac-10 Gymnast of the Year, which was the first such honor in Stanford women's gymnastics history.

GYMMNAST OF THE YEAR: Tabitha Yim, Stanford
COACH OF THE YEAR: Tanya Chaplin, Oregon State

First Team School Yr.Hometown
Ariana Berlin UCLA Jr.San Diego
Tiana Jean Arizona State Jr.Puyallup, Wash.
Jami Lanz Oregon State Jr. Eugene, Ore.
Anna Li UCLA So. Aurora, Ill.
Jordan Schwikert UCLA Sr.Las Vegas, Nev.
Karin Wurm Arizona Sr. Landenberg, Pa.

Second Team
School Yr.Hometown
Alexis Greene Arizona Jr. Severn, Md.
Miranda Russell Arizona So. Oshkosh, Wis.

First Team
School Yr.Hometown
Mandi Rodriguez Oregon State So.Baldwin Park, Calif.
Tasha Schwikert UCLA Sr.Las Vegas, Nev.
Tasha Smith Oregon State Jr.Auburn, Wash.

Second Team
Name School Yr. Hometown
Haley Bogart Washington Fr.Woodside, Calif.
Yuki Lamb Oregon State Sr.Knoxville, Tenn.

First Team
School Yr. Hometown
Allyse Ishino Stanford RS Fr.Santa Ana, Calif.
Tasha Schwikert UCLA Sr.Las Vegas, Nev.
Tabitha Yim Stanford Sr.Irvine, Calif.

Second Team
School Yr.Hometown
Raimey Iselin Washington Sr.Lake Tapps, Wash.
Nicole Waiss Washington Sr.Mill Creek, Wash.

First Team
School Yr. Hometown
Ashlee HinkleArizona StateJr.Glendale, Ariz.
Claire PierceOregon StateSr.Livermore, Calif.
Tabitha Yim StanfordSr.Irvine, Calif.

Second Team
School Yr. Hometown
Briana Bergeson Arizona Jr.Gilbert, Ariz.
Danielle Hicks Arizona Sr.Oshawa, Ontario

First Team
School Yr. Hometown
Ashley Houghting Washington Jr. Welland, Ontario
Mandi Rodriguez Oregon State, So. Baldwin Park, Calif.
Tasha Smith Oregon State Jr.Auburn, Wash.

Second Team
School Yr. Hometown
Lauren Elmore Stanford Sr. Bloomington, Ind.
Samantha Wailor Washington Fr. Prior Lake, Minn.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder